Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2004, 02:01 PM   #1
Night Stalker
Lord Ao
 

Join Date: June 24, 2002
Location: Nevernever Land
Age: 43
Posts: 2,002
This falls clearly into the category of WTF?!?

I have a cable modem in front of a FW-router, and a small network behind. Due to the upstream network, every now and then DHCP settings get hosed and the modem and router need to be rebooted.

So, I go this morning to check email and such ..... no web pages. So I reboot the modem and router and try again. Nothing. Interestingly enough, I can reach SSL traffic (https). So I start pinging around. DNS works fine as I can ping with names. I try both IE and Mozilla ..... IE just hangs, and Mozilla reports connection refused. Other machines on the network have no problems. I disable the local personal FWs, same thing. I try FTP traffic .... it works!

So it looks like port 80 (1080, 8080) traffic is hosed but nothing else is. WFT?!?!
__________________
[url]\"http://www.duryea.org/pinky/gurkin.wav\" target=\"_blank\">AYPWIP?</a> .... <img border=\"0\" alt=\"[1ponder]\" title=\"\" src=\"graemlins/1ponder.gif\" /> <br />\"I think so Brain, but isn\'t a cucumber that small called a gherkin?\"<br /><br />Shut UP! Pinky!
Night Stalker is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 02:54 PM   #2
Thoran
Galvatron
 

Join Date: January 10, 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 50
Posts: 2,109
Are you saying that http is hosed on only one system on your network?

If so is there anything unique about that system's net config relative to the rest?
Thoran is offline  
Old 03-23-2004, 03:00 PM   #3
Night Stalker
Lord Ao
 

Join Date: June 24, 2002
Location: Nevernever Land
Age: 43
Posts: 2,002
Well, yes and no! Each machine is different, but all MS based. This machine is WinXP Home, has been running fine for a long time. The only configuration update was to MS MP v9. That update was done over the weekend and the sys ran fine for 2 days without any hitch. It was only a quick troubleshoot as I had to get to work, but it left me scratching me head.
__________________
[url]\"http://www.duryea.org/pinky/gurkin.wav\" target=\"_blank\">AYPWIP?</a> .... <img border=\"0\" alt=\"[1ponder]\" title=\"\" src=\"graemlins/1ponder.gif\" /> <br />\"I think so Brain, but isn\'t a cucumber that small called a gherkin?\"<br /><br />Shut UP! Pinky!
Night Stalker is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange PC problem dplax General Discussion 9 12-28-2005 06:54 AM
Strange Problem... Please Help! moiraine sedai Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum 13 10-31-2003 10:21 AM
HLA's. Strange problem. cerandil Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 6 07-08-2003 12:43 PM
Strange problem Arnabas Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 05-13-2002 12:44 PM
strange problem... DavidL Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 3 01-24-2002 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved