Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 10-16-2002, 01:16 PM   #1
Sazerac
Ironworks Moderator

What is UP with this?

I agree that there are a few bad teachers out there, but every day I come on this forum to see more people posting about how "all teachers suck, all teachers are boring, why do teachers drone, those who can't do, teach"...

COME ON, GUYS!!

I have been a teacher for the past 15 years...9 of which were at the university level, and the past 6 at the vocational skills-training level. I have a bachelor's and master's degree in business education and a Ph.D. in Business Statistics with a minor in Consumer Behavior. I chose to forgo a more lucrative career because, quite frankly, I enjoy teaching and I find helping people develop themselves and develop their careers to be ultimately far more rewarding than backstabbing people on the way up the "corporate ladder."

There are many other people who have dedicated their lives to teaching as well for similar reasons. Granted, there are always those few apples who spoil the barrel in there as well, but they are not indicative of our profession as a whole.