Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2002, 06:53 AM   #1
GokuZool
Lord Ao
 

Join Date: September 11, 2001
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,061
Is it true that shutting down you computer by pressing the button (instead of going to start, shutdown etc.) can give you errors on your computer. I heard today that by shutting your computer down by pressing the button causes you HD to spin and not shutdown properly. Although if you do it the proper way (start, shutdown) it turns if off naturally. So does shutting your computer down (in the way mentioned) cause errors on your computer?

Thanx,
GokuZool is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 07:05 AM   #2
Wurm
Drizzt Do'Urden
 

Join Date: August 19, 2001
Location: Grafenwöhr Bayern Germany
Age: 52
Posts: 640
Yes it can...

But why would you want to shut your computer off with the button?

Mostly is that windows has so much stuff running in the background that a turning the PC off with out using Start Shutdown can cause windows to corrupt itself. Result..windows will do at least a scan / check disk. and worst case it wont boot into windows anymore..and you'll have to reformat. Its also hard on the HDDs [img]smile.gif[/img]

So I wouldn't do it if I were you
__________________
[url]\"http://www.sharkyforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=6\" target=\"_blank\">Come visit where I Moderate <img border=\"0\" title=\"\" alt=\"[Big Grin]\" src=\"biggrin.gif\" /> </a><br />[url]\"http://www.bsforums.com\" target=\"_blank\"> And also visit the nicest group of OTers I know <img border=\"0\" title=\"\" alt=\"[Smile]\" src=\"smile.gif\" /> </a>
Wurm is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 07:43 AM   #3
Jorath Calar
Harper
 

Join Date: October 6, 2001
Location: Iceland
Posts: 4,705
I've had some serious trouble coming out of that because my brother never bothers to shut it down properly... no matter how much I threaten him... [img]smile.gif[/img]
It only takes 5 seconds to shut down and it can't be that we are in that much of a hurry that we need to flick that button.
Jorath Calar is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 07:49 AM   #4
johnny
40th Level Warrior
 
Ms Pacman Champion
Join Date: April 15, 2002
Location: Utrecht The Netherlands
Age: 51
Posts: 16,977
yep, it can and it can cause damage too. Mine is never off, i have too many cool screensavers, so it would be a shame not to use them.
__________________
johnny is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 09:23 AM   #5
/)eathKiller
Dracolisk
 

Join Date: January 5, 2002
Location: Guantanamo Bay, Cuba
Age: 32
Posts: 6,043
with Windows maybe, sometimes i just flip off the power without even bothering to shut the computer down, let's face it, It's faster and doesn't really seem to do damage in the long run, its just a secure way to waste your time [img]tongue.gif[/img]
__________________
[img]\"http://membres.lycos.fr/th8or/ZeroSigForIronworks.gif\" alt=\" - \" /> o.o;
/)eathKiller is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 09:48 AM   #6
Elif Godson
Dracolich
 

Join Date: August 28, 2001
Location: Hurricane Valley
Age: 45
Posts: 3,086
The only time i do that is when window's locks up. It can be such a pain in the patoody if you know whAT i mean... Otherwise I alway's shut it down with the start button. It can and will cause your hdd to
malfuntion eventually.
__________________
Children get Arthritis too!
http://awtampa.kintera.org/jaaware
Elif Godson is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 09:55 AM   #7
Grimslade
Drow Warrior
 

Join Date: April 25, 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 271
Yes, it can give you errors if you do that, but its not that common IMO.

On some newer motherboards, you can select shut down, and then simply walk away without having to press the power button, because the motherboard does it for you.

I'm not sure, but I think if you have Win 2000 and a newer motherboard, you can simply press the power switch when you want to shut down, and then Windows will automatically shut down your computer for you.

[ 05-06-2002, 09:55 AM: Message edited by: Grimslade ]
Grimslade is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 09:57 AM   #8
Neb
Account deleted by Request
 

Join Date: May 17, 2001
Location: .
Age: 31
Posts: 8,802
Win 2k isn't required. I can do that with my Win 98.
Neb is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 10:32 AM   #9
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
I have lost _so_ much files by not shutting down properly. Its not just under windows, any time you shut down with the HDD in use can cause damage (Even under DOS). Modern OSes - windows, linux, solaris etc have a proper shut down option, so use it.

Even if you refuse to bother with it a least wait for the drive to stop writing, ive seen people who switch off during game-saving, which is just daft. *Plus it was my save game and I lost *months* of progress*
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 05-06-2002, 05:10 PM   #10
Sir Kenyth
Fzoul Chembryl
 

Join Date: August 30, 2001
Location: somewhere
Age: 47
Posts: 1,785
Terminating apps and OS improperly can corrupt files. If your HDD is writing when you power off, that file will surely be corrupted. Outside of that, the shutdown procedure removes temporary files that were in use during your session. If you want to waste HDD space with useless files, don't use the shut down process. Shut down also ensures that your HDD heads "park" properly. Your call.
__________________
Master Barbsman and wielder of the razor wit!<br /><br />There are dark angels among us. They present themselves in shining raiment but there is, in their hearts, the blackness of the abyss.
Sir Kenyth is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EfU ate my computer Winter Wolf NWN Mod: Escape from Undermountain 1 10-23-2006 06:10 AM
Computer question from the computer illiterate: krunchyfrogg General Discussion 17 02-12-2005 07:45 AM
Gamespot's Rumor Control about Troika games possibly shutting down Griefmaker General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 4 01-30-2005 04:39 PM
Shutting up Sebastio dlimbaugh Wizards & Warriors Forum 3 07-19-2001 04:58 PM
The HPI Hellsite is Shutting Down Their Forum skywalker Wizards & Warriors Forum 31 05-31-2001 09:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved