Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal > Baldurs Gate II Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2001, 01:06 AM   #1
Manwe
Manshoon
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Finland
Age: 33
Posts: 187
When i'm trying to install BG2, when the cd autorun comes when you should choose "install" for me it says "play". And when i try to run the setup.exe on the cd it will try to uninstall the game when i dont have it installed. I dont remember if i used the uninstall or if i deleted the game manually last time i had it on my computer.

I have tryed to delete the register key. But it doesn't help. I need some help please!
Manwe is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 01:18 AM   #2
Morgan_Corbesant
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: August 19, 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 39
Posts: 1,224
this happened to me. i just reformated my hard-drive. it had a bunch of crap on it though, and needed to be done.
__________________
Morgan Corbesant, Elven BladeSinger, Captain of the army of the Seldarine<br /><br /> [img]\"http://www.rleeermey.com/images/linkbanners/usmcredwhiteblue.gif\" alt=\" - \" /><br />Protector of Elves<br />Slayer of Orcs<br /><br />ALL YOUR BASE, ARE BELONG TO US!!!<br />I DON\'T FIGHT FOR HONOR, I FIGHT TO WIN!<br />\"One who is a samurai must before all things keep constantly in mind, by day and by night...the fact that he has to die\". <br />-Daidoji Yuzan-<br />16th Century
Morgan_Corbesant is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 03:51 AM   #3
Manwe
Manshoon
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Finland
Age: 33
Posts: 187
Anyone else? I'm really not really ready to format my drive.
Manwe is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 04:04 AM   #4
Victor von Steiner
Silver Dragon
 

Join Date: April 30, 2001
Location: Myth Drannor, Elven Court, Fareun
Age: 46
Posts: 1,654
Run a search on your computer for any files related to the game. You still have a file somewhere on your computer and your computer thinks the game is still installed because of that file or files.
Victor von Steiner is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 04:23 AM   #5
Chris77Se
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: October 10, 2001
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 335
And search your registry (via regedit) for any keys from Bioware or BG. If you find some, delete the keys (of course you should first make a security copy of your registry).
Unfortunately I cannot give you the correct position of the keys at the moment, because I am at work and sitting in front of an iMac...
Chris77Se is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 04:23 AM   #6
ShadowUK
Avatar
 

Join Date: March 10, 2001
Location: England, Worcester
Posts: 524
Try defregmenting your hard drive.......

__________________
ShadowUK is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 10:14 AM   #7
Manwe
Manshoon
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Finland
Age: 33
Posts: 187
I have allready deleted the Bioware key in the register, but i'll search my drive for BG2 files then. Thanks for your suggestions!
Manwe is offline  
Old 11-22-2001, 06:54 PM   #8
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
just remember that Microsoft got the new kid to organise the damn registry. stuff in their is all over the place. you havent deleted the Bioware key unless you used edit-> find, and even then you should go through for black isle, baldur gate, infinity etc.

i woudnt think a file would cause it - the install for BG is actually pretty neat. i havent seen any files stuck in the wrong place.

you might be able to run the install program directly and bypass the aluncher. the BG cd is in my bros cd is in his machine which is off so i cant check, but itd be called setup and be on CD1. it might work, it might give an error.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 11-23-2001, 01:01 AM   #9
Manwe
Manshoon
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Finland
Age: 33
Posts: 187
No the Setup.exe on the BG2 cd1 doesn't want to install it, it just tries to uninstall the game...
Manwe is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation problem Vortex^ Wizards & Warriors Forum 11 11-24-2004 11:04 AM
HELP! Installation problem Sythe Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 11-23-2004 01:10 PM
Installation problem Sorcerer Alex Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 05-05-2002 02:32 PM
ToB Installation Problem Daniel_M Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 04-22-2002 09:10 PM
installation problem pinworm_ Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 5 03-04-2002 10:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved