Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2008, 04:55 PM   #11
thecarrotdude
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: June 29, 2005
Location: Michigan
Age: 32
Posts: 320
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

Still doesn't show my BG SoA saved games for some reason. I looked online and it said that I have to go to all programs >> games >> games explorer, then click on my game, click on the arrow next to play and click on 'saved games', unfortunately there is no 'saved games' to click on for BG SoA. If anyone else has vista, can you try this and see if you can see your saved games this way? (BTW I definitely have saved games, that was an unnecessary comment)
__________________

"Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler..."
- Milton Waddams

Last edited by thecarrotdude; 01-04-2008 at 05:31 PM.
thecarrotdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2008, 07:01 PM   #12
Kyrvias
Lord Ao
 

Join Date: May 15, 2005
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

I too have run into the exact same issue. Shadowkeeper can find my saves, but I can't access them any other way, other than loading and saving ingame.

Stupid Vista.
Kyrvias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 01:43 AM   #13
thecarrotdude
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: June 29, 2005
Location: Michigan
Age: 32
Posts: 320
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

Dang. Maybe if I completely explain my situation someone might know something. I have a RunDll virus on my laptop. The only thing I have saved of any importance is BG SoA saved game which I have been playing for a year now (spread out every now and then, during breaks, etc.) So I am trying to reformat my laptop so I can get rid of the virus. Kyrvias said "Shadowkeeper can find my saves" how do I do that, also does any one know how to remove the virus. That would save me a load of trouble. The error comes when I turn the lap top on, the window says I cant find some file, then I press okay, then everything on the screen disappears, and only the background left, then I have to restart it, etc, till it works.
__________________

"Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler..."
- Milton Waddams
thecarrotdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 07:13 AM   #14
ElfBane
Mephistopheles
 

Join Date: March 21, 2004
Location: Cape Canaveral, FL
Age: 66
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

Are you SURE it's a virus, and not just a corrupt file?
If it is indeed a virus, you may want to,,,,uhhh,,DL or install an AV program?!? YaThink?
It sounds as if you can get to the desktop after multiple boot attempts,,,is this so?

If you CAN get to the desktop occasionally, then you can do a search (DON'T USE INDEXING!!!!!) on the name of the savegame. It will tell you where it is.

I can save you some time, if you will listen. AS I SAID BEFORE.....Vista defaulted my BG1 saves to my Documents folder,,,in one of the 'user' folders. Try looking there.
__________________
They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Benjamin Franklin (1706 - 1790), Historical Review of Pennsylvania, 1759.

Iraq and Afghan fatalities: 6,855 and counting. Silence IS consent.
ElfBane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 12:57 PM   #15
thecarrotdude
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: June 29, 2005
Location: Michigan
Age: 32
Posts: 320
Crazy Re: BG2 and Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfBane View Post
Are you SURE it's a virus, and not just a corrupt file?
If it is indeed a virus, you may want to,,,,uhhh,,DL or install an AV program?!? YaThink?
Most people usually have AV programs, so comments like the one above would be considered useless and a waste of space. Some might even wonder why you put the effort of getting on the computer and then end up posting stupid comments. Lucky for you it turns out I didn't have an AV program after all. So thanks for the advice. Please tell me what else I need on my computer because you obviously know all the contents of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfBane View Post
If you CAN get to the desktop occasionally, then you can do a search (DON'T USE INDEXING!!!!!) on the name of the savegame. It will tell you where it is.
Maybe you should try reading some of the previous posts. Wait, I'll save you the trouble: I CANT FIND THEM USING SEARCH.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfBane View Post
I can save you some time, if you will listen. AS I SAID BEFORE.....Vista defaulted my BG1 saves to my Documents folder,,,in one of the 'user' folders. Try looking there.
Instead of telling me to listen, again, try reading a little bit. That's probably the only way you could save me time, since I wouldn't have to type these explanations. I COULDN'T FIND THEM. Maybe you would consider being a little more specific, since it sounds like you already found them before.
__________________

"Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler..."
- Milton Waddams

Last edited by thecarrotdude; 01-05-2008 at 01:03 PM.
thecarrotdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2008, 02:00 PM   #16
thecarrotdude
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: June 29, 2005
Location: Michigan
Age: 32
Posts: 320
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

Okay I think I found them, so Kyrvias if you still cant find them go here.

C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Black Isle\BGII - SoA\save
__________________

"Excuse me, I believe you have my stapler..."
- Milton Waddams
thecarrotdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:54 PM   #17
Firestormalpha
Knight of the Rose
 
Zelda Champion Snake Champion
Join Date: July 11, 2002
Location: Coral Springs, Fl USA
Age: 37
Posts: 4,454
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

May not be the smartest idea, I'm not sure, but I've always created a seperate folder just for my games, I usually put it right under C:\Games etc.
Some save files are under the user folders, but most older stuff I've found right in the games location.
__________________
"When you start with a presupposition, it's hard to arrive at any other conclusion."

"We are never to judge a philosophy by its abuse." - Augustine

"If you're wondering if God has a sense of humor, consider the platypus."

http://www.greaterthings.cbglades.com
Firestormalpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 12:46 PM   #18
pritchke
Bastet - Egyptian Cat Goddess
 

Join Date: September 5, 2001
Location: Calgary, AB
Age: 46
Posts: 3,491
Happy Laughing Re: BG2 and Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElfBane View Post
Are you SURE it's a virus, and not just a corrupt file?
VISTA is a virus thankfully it doesn't spread from machine to machine.
pritchke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:33 PM   #19
Firestormalpha
Knight of the Rose
 
Zelda Champion Snake Champion
Join Date: July 11, 2002
Location: Coral Springs, Fl USA
Age: 37
Posts: 4,454
Default Re: BG2 and Vista

Well, Vista IS pretty bad, but I think calling it a Virus is a little harsh.
__________________
"When you start with a presupposition, it's hard to arrive at any other conclusion."

"We are never to judge a philosophy by its abuse." - Augustine

"If you're wondering if God has a sense of humor, consider the platypus."

http://www.greaterthings.cbglades.com
Firestormalpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NWN and VIsta Target Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum 6 09-18-2007 08:39 PM
Running BG II on vista Kyrvias Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 5 07-21-2007 08:22 AM
Gears of War on Vista Hivetyrant Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 1 07-08-2007 04:22 AM
24hrs with Vista Zebodog General Discussion 6 06-15-2006 06:01 PM
Will Vista run your Video games? Hivetyrant General Discussion 7 06-01-2006 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2021 Ironworks Gaming & ©2021 The Great Escape Studios TM - All Rights Reserved