Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 06-30-2005, 10:47 AM   #1
Dragonshadow
Quth-Maren

I started playing this game again after a long time of not-playing it (I found some demos lying around my house. I love demos. [img]smile.gif[/img] ) and I have dual-classed a level 7 fighter to a mage. I am in dragon's eye

1) Was this a good idea? or should I have dualed earlier or later?
2) Will she be able to use armour and weapons atht fighters can? (If it is aything like BG, shouldn't it be at about lv 7?
3) Will she get her attacks back? She used to have 2 or 3, now only has 1.

Cheers.
DS

aka Loc der Graf, Quillruke
Dragonshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2005, 11:39 AM   #2
Aerich
Lord Ao

1) Yes, it was a decent idea. Dual classing at level 7 is a good compromise between power and convenience. You get an extra 1/2 attack per round as a lvl 7 fighter. Lots of people prefer to dual at lvl 9 for the extra WP, maximized HP, and better Thac0. But you can dual at lvl 7 for a very affordable price (64 000 iirc), while the lvl 9 xp cost is quite a bit steeper at 250 000.

2) Yes, you will be able to use your fighter skills when your mage level exceeds your fighter level. However, you will not be able to cast spells while wearing armour - unless you find some elven chain mail.

3) Yes, you will get your attacks and weapon proficiencies back.
Old 06-30-2005, 07:55 PM   #3
NobleNick
Quintesson

Dragonshadow,

Well said by Aerich. (And he did get the XP numbers right.)