Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 07-05-2002, 11:40 AM   #1
StarVid
Elminster

This is my first time starting a game from scratch on the hardest difficulty (I think insane, definitely not HoF). I notice that not only are the enemies tougher, but there are a lot more. In the orc caves I faced 4 ogres instead of just one.

This is the party I have now, they are around level 4, I think:

Paladin (Long Swords**, Maces**, Axe*)
Elven Ranger (Bows**, Long Sword**, Flail*)
Dwarven Cleric (Mace, Missle, Hammer)
Human Fighter to dual to druid at level 6 (Dagger***, Scimitar**)
Human Thief to dual to mage at level 7 (Bows, Shortsword, longsword)
Half-elven Bard (Halberds, great swords, xbows)

The ranger is a pretty tough archer, and it's nice to have the extra attack (though only with a one handed weapon and no shield). Howeve,r even with good armor, it's not a good backup tank. My cleric could probably do a better job and she's pretty weak too. With this party, (once I dual the druid), I won't have a solid backup tank. I was thinking of ditching the ranger in exchange for a demihuman (either dwarf for the resists or the gnome because I don't have one) fighter to go for 3*s in bows, GM in Axes, and Flail specialization. It'll still be a good archer, but I lose all the ranger perks (of course). That extra attack won't mean anything once I have grandmastery (as the fighter will only be 1/2 attack behind but I have an extra +2 to hit, +3 damage and faster leveling)