Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 02-12-2002, 08:46 PM   #1
Daniel
Symbol of Cyric

Hi I have just recently got into roleplaying (Vampire the Masquerade)
But I have never played any D&D(I have played AD&D Computer games for years though you, gotta love em).

Anyway my birthday is coming up and I was planning on getting a few rule books and starting a gaming group. But I am unsure as to what to start playing Vampire or D&D. I have a feeling that I would perfer playing D&D because it's more my sort of setting (I love fantasy), but I have had no experience with D&D. So I now have a Dilema my funds arn't great enough to start both so I could:

1. Start D&D, I think I will like it better but seeing as I have never played I cant be sure.

or

2. Stay with Vampire the Masquerade which I am familiar with and like, but by doing so might be missing somthing better.

What should I choose any body out there play both games?
Which do you consider better?
HELP!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 02-12-2002, 09:03 PM   #2
Chris77Se
Zhentarim Guard

I would get the D&D rulebooks. The 3rd Ed is great, but different from the 2nd Ed. (which is used in the CRPGs), but IHO the 3rd Ed. makes playing easier, especially for the DM.
The second reason is, assuming that you are playing Vampire as player not as gamemaster, that it is much more fun playing Vampire without knowing all the rules and things about the game.
Old 02-13-2002, 05:57 AM   #3
WOLFGIR
Bastet - Egyptian Cat Goddess