Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 09-18-2002, 03:27 AM   #1
Aliyah L'bliss
Elite Waterdeep Guard

I see exp cap remover as a cheat, is this so?

I am a noob to bg2, and havnt got higher than level 11, so maybe my opinion doesnt count but what do others think?

Is the exp cap too low for the later levels of the game?
Old 09-18-2002, 03:43 AM   #2
Dundee Slaytern
Ironworks Moderator

I see Xp Cap Removers as cheating as well. The only time I close one eye is when the person wants to solo, but does not have ToB installed to raise the Xp Cap.

If you have a party, 2,950,000 Xp is more than sufficient for you to raise Hell upon thy enemies.

Not to mention that you need to scrimp and squeeze every last quest to reach that Xp Cap with a 6-people party.
Dundee Slaytern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2002, 06:09 AM   #3
Radek
Red Dragon

As far as BG2 is concerned, it's a question whether XP cap remover is cheating.
1. It is: Yes, it is a cheating because it maipulates game files and game logic. Period. The game was created by somebody and we should play it as it was meant by the authors. All editors, viewers, xp cap removers, and so on are cheating.
2. It is not: But hold! XP cap remover is a "mod". There are bags of "mods" all around. Are they all cheating? I don't think so. The "mods" modify the game so that it becomes more (or less) interesting. Is it bad?