Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 03-25-2001, 12:05 PM   #1
jellydonut
Elite Waterdeep Guard

Hello all, I just purchased Icewind Dale because I heard nothing but good things about it. I've never played Balder's Gate so I'm basically new to the interface and everything. I am clueless when it comes to a fighting strategy. Someone in my party always ends up getting killed by the goblins over the bridge in easthaven. Is there any fighting strategy to use, like any way to have my mage (who does not have many HP) fight but be protected by my fighters? I find it extremely difficult to control 6 people simultaneously in real time battles. Is fighting this difficult througout the whole game??
jellydonut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2001, 12:35 PM   #2
Accord
Ninja Storm Shadow

5 keys to success:
1) balance party (mages become powerful at the end of the game, the key is keep them alive as they can offer valuable support)
2) proper party formation (don't let anyone wanders off, you can scout with thieves by hiding in shadow)
3) pause the game often to reassign commands (hit spacebar), don't wait till the last moment to use potions, sometimes it takes a couple of seconds to drink a potion if the character has casted spell or attacked already
4) always try to take out enemy's spell caster first
5) hope you have a cleric, you'll need "turn undead".

------------------
Long live H22A1!!!!!
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2001, 11:41 PM   #3
xavierbreth
Elite Waterdeep Guard