Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 03-07-2003, 03:11 PM   #1
Timber Loftis
40th Level Warrior

The ABA asked attorneys for employment firing war stories, and this is what they got:

I am an in-house lawyer for a large corporation. A few years ago, a human resources staffer and I were assigned the unpleasant task of firing an employee with a long history of performance problems. When asked to come to a meeting at human resources, the employee apparently knew her time with the company was over. She brought a wicker purse to the meeting and set it on the floor. Each time I spoke to her from one side of a desk, she would quietly move the purse to my side with her foot. When the HR employee spoke, she would push the purse to his side of the desk.

After a few minutes of this, I asked whether she was recording our conversation. She became very flustered, jumped up, told me to go to hell and went for the door. I yelled to her that I needed her badge. She turned and threw the badge at me. It bounced off my eyeglasses (luckily, I had them on) and straight into the hands of the HR employee. That was the last we saw or heard of her.

Thomas
Midland, Mich.