Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 04-29-2003, 12:25 PM   #1
Chewbacca
Zartan

I'm suprised this game hasn't been mentioned here in this forum considering the nature of the factions available to play, so I'm curious if anyone here plays it.

The opening scene of the U.S. campaign, where you siege Baghdad, nearly took me aback, as I started playing the game shortly after the war began.

Then the is the GLA faction, aka the rebel terorist faction, with units like toxin tractor, suicide bomber, and scud launcher.

I'm suprised the press hasn't made a big deal out this either, though I heard a rumor the game was temporarily banned in Germany.

Anyway, it is a superior and graphically beautiful RTS game and lots of fun, particularly online, though it lacks the uncanny storylines, FMV, and almost humorous slant found the previous CnC games.

Any thoughts on this game?
Old 04-29-2003, 12:31 PM   #2
Rimjaw
Red Wizard of Thay

I didn't like it. Sorry but it was simplistic as hell; hardy any tactics required, had a somewhat clunky interface and ran like dog unless you were playing it on 800 by 600. Definately not as good as Red Alert 2.

Germany wasn't the only one to ban it. China as well, apparently they were offended with the cinematic of Tiannamen Square getting blown up.
Rimjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2003, 12:41 PM   #3
Chewbacca
Zartan

Quote:
Originally posted by Rimjaw:
I didn't like it. Sorry but it was simplistic as hell; hardy any tactics required, had a somewhat clunky interface and ran like dog unless you were playing it on 800 by 600. Definately not as good as Red Alert 2.