Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 01-31-2002, 06:06 PM   #1
GenXCub
Drow Warrior

I've been playing on and off since Xmas, and I'm still having issues of party composition.. I haven't done anything past Trynton... it's sort of my benchmark... I want to find a really great party that's survivable past that... I'm just basically throwing out ideas on what I've done, I'd appreciate a critique, but keep in mind I want to do something that's fun, not just a cookie-cutter party. I'm fairly new to this type of r/t game... I had Wiz 6 and 7, but didn't really like 7. I've never played Baldur's Gate, I'm more of a Diablo 2 fan where there are no parties.

My first party was Samurai, Lord, Monk, Gadgeteer, Psionic, Mage. I thought it was good overall, but I felt left out by not having a bard.

So I created Samurai, Fighter, Ranger, Gadgeteer, Bard, Bishop. I love the Ranger, I now have him in all my parties, but I was pretty weak as far as firepower went.

Then I tried Samurai, Valkyrie, Ranger, Gadgeteer, Bard, Alchemist... only problem, no one to do Identify item until quite a ways into the game...

Here's the question that's really burning in my head. Do I really need a Samurai? I almost never get the lightning Attacks and the only way to get him to berserk is to give him the sword you find in the Monastery to auto-berserk... and it's no better than a No-Dachi.