Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 08-04-2003, 09:53 PM   #1
yakyak
Welcomed New User

I just started playing through the game for my first time a couple days ago and quickly became stuck. I can't seem to get past Kuldahar Pass, the first group of goblins there kick my butt every time.
I have both HoW and the luremaster expansions installed along with the latest patches. The difficulty is set on HOF and my party consists of the following: 2 dwarven fighters, one doing axes and the other great swords, 3 more human fighters to dual class to druid, thief, and mage later. The last charcter is a bard and everybody is level 5. My strategy so far has been to let the two dwarves tank/run in circles while the others focus fire with ranged weapons. Once the two tanks get low on hp I either swap them out for one of the ranged attackers or I just take everybody and run. This had been working fine since there was always room to run or possiblilty of exiting the area. However, in Kuldahar Pass there is no room to run from the first group of goblins and I can't find a way to exit the area besides the exit on the far right of the map, which has even more goblins on the way.
I know this is still the very start of the game so I'm sure it will only get harder as it goes on. Any of you have any advice on getting through this part? Different fighting tactics, maybe different party make up? Thanks.
yakyak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 08:16 AM   #2
Micah Foehammer
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice