Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 06-02-2003, 02:11 PM   #1
MagiK

Last week (on Friday) I blew my cool (whats new) at some of the things a self described financial planner said, and I shouldn't have. But what blew my cool was that this professional couldn't come up with a good suggestion for what his clients should do with the money saved from the tax cuts..so....here I offer my humble non expert suggestions at what you might do with the money that the government will not confiscate from you due to the cuts. (Im sure if I did this stuff for a living I would have even more suggestions)

Average family of 4 supposed to see $1200-$1600 in reduced federal income taxes (if you combine the previous cut and this cut. I will base the figure on the lower of these two, $1200 this gives us a nice even $100 a month to play with.

IF you invest your $100 a month into an investment vehicle that will average over the long run a 10% interest rate for you. (not exceedingly hard to do) this is what you can expect to see.

100mo at 10% for 5 years = $7,743.70
100mo at 10% for 10 years = $20,484.49
100mo at 10% for 20 years = $75,936.88
100mo at 10% for 30 years = $226,048.79

As you can see consistancey is required so you don't want to see congress take this money back away from you. A great idea is to put this into a 401k or a 403b plan, lacking that an IRA with a whole market mutual fund will do.

If you are a concerned parent you can also take this money and put it into CD's each year untill you have amassed $5,000 and then invest that into a

RIC-E Trust Account