Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 04-14-2006, 09:46 AM   #1
Ilander
20th Level Warrior

So, my friend's replacing his motherboard...and I've been helping him with it, so that I can get some kind of handle on the process, since I've never done it before---install a new one into a new computer yes, but not install a new one into an old computer.

I'm competent when it comes to physically installing it, just so it's clear

But, I don't really know much about the software/operation side of it. One of my friends claims you just install the motherboard and fire up the computer...gotta say, that's quite wrong, at least in this case, where the computer would not budge at all from the startup RAM-checking screen.

So, what's the next step, and what should I be doing? Anybody know anything about 'em? I'll take whatever you're willing to give!

Is that what you really want to say?
Ilander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 10:34 AM   #2
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator

I hope its not wrong of me to ask whether or not the processor and memory chips you have are certainly compatible with the new m-board...did you take them off the old one or buy new ones for this board?
Old 04-14-2006, 11:02 AM   #3
Ilander
20th Level Warrior

We're using the old RAM, graphics card, and modem, as it's all compatible (bought the board with this in mind). The CPU is new, an AMD 64 socket 939 one...

The "old" memory was PC 3200, which is what the new motherboard uses.

No, I check that stuff...that's the physical side of things, which I'm familiar with

Old 04-14-2006, 11:06 AM   #4
RoSs_bg2_rox
Zartan