Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 05-23-2004, 06:51 AM   #1
Cerek the Barbaric
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice

I've just installed BGII and ToB on a different PC and FINALLY managed to get the Weimer Mods I wanted installed properly also (ran into various glitches with installing the game and mods both on my first couple of tries). Apparantly, there have been some upgrades to the Mods since I originally downloaded them (around this time last year, IIRC).

I installed Tactics, Ease-of-Use, and Item Upgrade Mods. Then I began a new game. I'm just getting started in Chateau Irenicus, but I've already noticed some definite changes.

First of all, I noticed that EVERY door I open is now "magically stuck open" and apparantly can NOT be closed again. There also seems to be NO TRAPS! I noticed the "No locks and traps" component in Ease-of-Use. To be honost, I'm not thrilled with that particular change. Detecting traps is one of the MAIN reasons to bring a thief along in your party. It is an intergral part of the game, IMHO.

I also do NOT like the idea of being unable to close doors behind me. I routinely do this in Chateau Irenicus when I want to rest and regain spells (although the random thief and his war dogs would just appear inside the room anyway), but I also used this tactic extensively to defeat Improved Ilyich and his crew. I'm sure I can find a way to beat him eventually, but there is nothing wrong with being able to run away from an enemy in order to lure him into an ambush - AND to separate the party members so that I don't have to face the entire group at one time.