Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-2001, 12:35 AM   #1
Bullvye
Dungeon Master

I've been playing AD&D, both first and second edition, since around 1982!( I still believe first edition is the best!) I know I'm new here and dont have a really good idea of how the clans work on this board, but I'd love to either start, or belong to a clan of "old school" warriors, rangers, thieves and mages!

Anyone with me?....or is there anyone willing to direct me?
Old 10-19-2001, 12:40 AM   #2
Sazerac
Ironworks Moderator

ROFL! I just posted about being a 1st edition player in Cerise's thread! Yes, I've played 1st ed AD&D all the way back in 1981 and 1982, back with the classic books (DM's manual with the huge red demon on it, and the Player's Handbook with the demon statue with the huge burning brazier). We used to make up our own worlds...no Faerun, no Forgotten Realms, etc.

One of the best 1st ed. campaigns I ever ran was set in a world very similar to 1500 B.C.'s Israel/Egypt, with Hebraic runes/magical system, huge burial tombs, priestly caste/structure, the whole 9 yards. It was right after Raiders of the Lost Ark had made such a huge splash and all the players just loved it. Talk about fun back then!

Cheers,

------------------
Old 10-19-2001, 12:51 AM   #3
Bullvye
Dungeon Master

Quote:
Originally posted by Sazerac: