Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 01-12-2002, 08:03 PM   #1
Durwyn
Elminster

I'm new to the D&D Book era so to speak, not quite new I've read some but a LONG time ago. And just like always, the little lost Durwyn needs your advice [img]smile.gif[/img] . I've been playing the board game before, and most of the RPG titles released by Black Isle and well just as many other games that have something to do with magic, knights, castles, etc. So I finally decided to suit up and start reading some of this, as I've heard, very well written literature.

I've finally saved up (Oh jeez 5 bucks hehe) and am ready to buy my first book. What do you think would be a good pick for a first nice book to let you sort of 'settle in' the atmosphere? Any feedback will be apriciated! [img]smile.gif[/img] .
Old 01-12-2002, 08:54 PM   #2
Durwyn
Elminster

*bump*
Old 01-12-2002, 09:58 PM   #3
Blade
Emerald Dragon

Any of the Forgotten realms series books, The wheel of time series, The sword of truth series, but the last two are long series with thick 600-1000 pg. books each. You might try Owl knight series by Mercedes Lanky or anyother of the author's books. Thoes are some of the best i have run across myself as an avid reader. Hope this gives you somewhere to look.
Old 01-12-2002, 10:26 PM   #4
Durwyn
Elminster

Thanks for the feedback, and I will look closer to your suggestion [img]smile.gif[/img] .
Old 01-13-2002, 12:00 AM   #5
fable
Quintesson