Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 02-20-2006, 01:46 PM   #1
Tyrion
Quintesson

Ok, im new to this game so I want to get some tips!
I played NWN before but ended up planning the character so long it isnt possible to do so this time.
Can you help me get a balanced party together?
Old 02-20-2006, 02:35 PM   #2
Klorox
Symbol of Cyric

Well, you can have up to a 6 member party.

You're going to want at least 1 tank, 1 healer, and 1 wizard or sorcerer.

Paladins, Fighters and Barbarians make great tanks. Multiclassing between two of these classes makes them even better.

The best healer is a Cleric, although a Druid will get the job done (I actually suggest taking one of each, or two Clerics, but you NEED only one).

I am a big fan of the Sorcerer class. I suggest one single classed Sorcerer. Oh yeah, before I forget, you'll need someone to handle the thieving duties too. Don't worry, there aren't too many traps around, so I suggest about 2 or 3 levels of Rogue and the rest Wizard for another character. He'll make a fine backup spellchucker to the Sorcerer, and can handle those locks and traps. [img]smile.gif[/img]

The rest is up to you! [img]smile.gif[/img]

BTW, if you plan on replaying in HOF mode, I suggest a few spellcasting levels for everybody.

"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."-- Edmund Burke
Klorox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 03:49 PM   #3
wanderon
Dungeon Master

Indeed a common theme for a balanced party often means
2 tank types
1 cleric
1 arcane caster
1 rogue
1 utility or specialty class