Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 07-11-2002, 06:47 PM   #1
Jim Wingert
Elite Waterdeep Guard

I need advice on getting the cheats to work in IWD.

I started playing IWD and then added the Heart of Winter module. After finishing each area [still in IWD Chapter 2 ] I look up what things should have been available and go back to make sure I find them. I discovered that I probably killed an NPC too early for him to summon Myrkul's Sending so I didn't get a lot of stuff I really need for Dragon's Eye area. Without starting over, I want to use cheats to create those select items [and maybe some healing potions!].

So, I found a list of cheat codes and put the "Cheats=1" line in my .ini file which should enable cheats. The HoW module contains patch 1.06 for IWD which was supposed to enable cheats. When I start the game I can get the [Control-Tab] window for entering cheats but when I enter them I get a reply "Nice try Cheater!" and no goods. I checked the syntax of my entry and it is correct in every keystroke with the semi-colon at the end and no spaces. I also made sure the case was correct for each character. Just to be sure it wasn't anything in the HoW module, I downloaded and installed patch 1.41 for HoW which says cheats are enabled in the accompanying text file. Still no joy.

Suggestions??
Old 07-13-2002, 05:04 PM   #2
Spanner_razor
Elite Waterdeep Guard