Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Baldurs Gate & Tales of the Sword Coast
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 05-27-2003, 10:57 PM   #1
Luvian
Ironworks Moderator

Ok, a long time ago, when I was a newbie to computer game, I bought BG1 in french for 80$. Then, some time later, when the expansion came out, I bought it too, but in english...

I thought it would work out, I didn't know computer much, I simply thought some area would be in english, and other in french, but it didn't work like that, the expansion would not install over the french version. What I did was rent the english version of Baldur's Gate, and install it instead of the french one. When asked to insert the game cd, I could do it with the french cds, and it would work, and I was able to use the expansion, too.

I played the expansion for a day and then forgot about it for some unknown reason. It's been years since then, I do not have the english version anymore and all the shop that were renting computer games got rid of that game. So now I'm stuck with the english expansion and I have no use for it, and the worse part is that I paid 70$ for it.

And if this was not bad enough, the french spoken dialogs are absolutely horrible.
Old 05-28-2003, 12:07 AM   #2
Pirengle
Symbol of Cyric

Try looking on Half.com or eBay for a US/UK version of BG1. I found mine online for $15 at eBay, and my copy of BG2 at Half.com for about the same price a year later.
Old 05-28-2003, 12:52 AM   #3
Luvian
Ironworks Moderator

I don't have a credit card, I can't shop online.
Luvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 02:55 PM   #4
Sir Heinrich Godfrie IV
Zhentarim Guard