Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 12-09-2001, 10:36 AM   #1
Lucre
Elminster

I am a newbie to Icewind Dale and wanted to know what is the best combination of classes to have!

Thanks for any replies!
Lucre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 02:08 PM   #2
Worm
The Magister

Well, first don't try the game on insane with a party of 5 ... it is VERY hard. I suggest you put together the regular cliche party a priest, warrior, theif, and mage. Now you have those last two slots usually I'll throw a druid or a fighter in those two slots. Halflings and Elves make great warrior due to the speciality in ranged weapons. Though dwarves have the advantage of having a melee weapon and a close weapon under one skill. As for a druid or a mage I suggest elves the 19 dexerity is great so they start off with good AC. Now gnome enchanters rock because they get the extra slots get great intelligence;BUT, They have the disadvantage of not being able to use necromancry. Yet the ones in heart of winter cannot use necromancry and abjuration ... that really blows it alone makes gnomish mages not worth it.
Worm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 03:13 PM   #3
Irongrinder

a ranger and paladin as a good tankteam,
a cleric for the spells and turning undead
a thief to open doors and traps.
a druid for great summon abilities
a mage for the spells.

In my opinion this is the best to start with.
Irongrinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2001, 03:41 PM   #4
Worm
The Magister

quote:
Originally posted by Irongrinder:
a ranger and paladin as a good tankteam,