Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 08-14-2003, 07:44 PM   #1
Cataephract
Dungeon Master

Ok, I run WinXP, and I've been getting Event 9 and 51 disk errors when I check my event viewer log, and though I've run chkdsk /f /r several times, I still consistently lose 12KB a day in bad sectors. Is this indicative of anything besides basic hardware failure, and does it have a solution? How long will my drive likely last? If the drive fails, I'm going to get a new drive and install Win98, but I've never done that before, and I was wondering if I could get some tips. I know it is connected through IDE, and that it would need to be FAT32, but what else should I know? Will the BIOS recognize the drive, will Win98 have trouble detecting any hardware, etc. Please, any help would be appreciated, I could use any tips, since this isn't my forte.
Old 08-14-2003, 10:24 PM   #2
Granamere
Zhentarim Guard

If I were you i would get a hard drive before this one fails. Then you can hook both of them up and copy any important files over before the drive fails.

Will the BIOS recognize the drive

It depends on how old your bios is. If you drive is bigger than 10 gig you should be safe up to 80 gig. Do you know if you are ATA 33,66,100 or 133? Also most bios can be flash updated so if your motherboard maker has a new bios you can go as big as you want.

Win98 have trouble detecting any hardware