Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2003, 06:14 AM   #1
slicer15
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: November 12, 2002
Location: Banstead, Southeast England
Age: 30
Posts: 1,162
How do I find the "network address" of something I'm trying to share on the network? Its only two PC's, and I want to share a folder to copy files across. I've done it before, but I had to format the other one, and I can't remember how I did it! [img]tongue.gif[/img]

Any help appreciated.
slicer15 is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 06:43 AM   #2
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
Once you have the network up, you should be able to share a folder and it will appear on the network neighborhood of the other computer.

Youve done this before, so Ill just give the numbers, the method is easy, just bring up the network properties and add them to the relevant tcp/ip driver - subnet mask of 255.255.255.0 , and IP addresses of 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2 .
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 06:54 AM   #3
slicer15
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: November 12, 2002
Location: Banstead, Southeast England
Age: 30
Posts: 1,162
Um...where can I find the network properties again? [img]tongue.gif[/img] I'm running XP, by the way...
slicer15 is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 08:52 AM   #4
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
start->settings->network connections.

right click on Local Area Connection, bring up properties.

Internet Protocol, properties.

And you should be able to take it from there.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 07:24 PM   #5
slicer15
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: November 12, 2002
Location: Banstead, Southeast England
Age: 30
Posts: 1,162
Um...on the LAN properties it only has three tabs, General, Authentication and Advanced. Where can I find the Internet Protocol? Cheers! Remember, XP is very awkward with these kind of things...
slicer15 is offline  
Old 07-26-2003, 07:51 PM   #6
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
In the general tab theres a list of items use by this connection, tcp/ip should be in that list
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for network help... Bungleau General Discussion 0 06-14-2006 08:24 AM
Liberals Want Their Own Network Grojlach General Discussion 11 08-12-2004 10:01 AM
Network Issues This Morning.... Ziroc General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 4 07-30-2004 09:33 AM
Strange Network Problem ... WTF?!? Night Stalker General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 2 03-23-2004 02:00 PM
Yet another cable network? Rokenn General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 1 07-11-2003 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved