Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2002, 02:39 PM   #1
FelixJaeger
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: May 26, 2002
Location: The Cloudy Town Of Hellview
Age: 29
Posts: 1,202
quick question i ned to know, can you resume downloads using GetRight if you shut down your computer or do you have to do it in one big sitting?mainly because i cant sit in front of my comp for 10+ hours(it took me 6 to get 30% of this thing downloaded and then i got an error!!!)
Felix
FelixJaeger is offline  
Old 07-31-2002, 03:40 PM   #2
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
Um, thats the entire [i]point[/i[ of using getright. Although some servers dont support resume. If you go into properties for the files there should be an entry for resume. If it says yes, you can resume after shutdown. If it says no, you should check for a better server to download from. Theres no excuse for not supporting resume in this day and age, especialy for larger files.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 07-31-2002, 03:46 PM   #3
Nachtrafe
Red Wizard of Thay
 

Join Date: August 9, 2001
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Age: 45
Posts: 889
One thing you might want to be aware of when using GetRight. It's LOADED with spyware. And the crap part is, if you uninstall the spyware GetRight stops working. Now, if you dont care who's gathering confidential and/or demographic data from your puter, then go for it, it's great software. But I just thought you might want to know.

I use Download Accelerator(http://www.downloadaccelerator.com/DefaultT.asp?) myself. It has some spyware in the install too, but you can get rid of it with AdAware(http://www.lavasoft.com) and Download Accelerator still works.
__________________
~~OFFICIAL BOYTOY OF CLOUDY'S CAFE....WELL...OK...JUST CLOUDY!~~

"May the wings of liberty never lose a feather!"
Nachtrafe is offline  
Old 07-31-2002, 04:00 PM   #4
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
nactrafe, I regularly remove spyware (adaware, www.lavasoft.com) and the only problem getright has is it keeps complaining about script errors in its advert pages. Other than that it works fine, and who needs ads anyway.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Task Manager Sir Goulum General Discussion 6 05-01-2005 10:33 PM
Football Manager 2005 Xen Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 7 11-25-2004 09:25 AM
DL manager? tower General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 2 10-06-2003 05:51 PM
Task manager won´t start? WillowIX General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 5 03-17-2003 11:36 AM
Any of these your manager? Arvon General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 1 07-31-2002 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved