Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal > Baldurs Gate II Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-15-2001, 05:15 PM   #1
Inis
Elite Waterdeep Guard
 

Join Date: November 15, 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Hello all, I am relatively new to this game, and am already addicted. I have one teensy little problem. The game goes on these fits wherein it will not let me rest, be it outside (ie., De'arnise stronghold) or in an inn/tavern. This is single player here. My party is not scattered or anything, I have ample gold to pay for a room or almost anything else for that matter. I am REALLY very curious as to why I sometimes get "you may not rest at this time" when I take my party into an inn and cluster them around the tavernkeeper, and try to rent a room. By the by, at these times, I also cannot save the game other than autosave of course. These phenomena make it extraordinarily difficult to move through the game with a mage leader and magic-based party, because of spells needing to be re-memorized.

Help?

Thanks,

Mage Inis
Inis is offline  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:24 PM   #2
Silk
Elite Waterdeep Guard
 

Join Date: November 8, 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 27
Hi and Welcome!

I get this occasionally. I havent really figured y but wot i do is move a bit and then go back again. When ur inside sometimes it just wont let you. But either try again or move about a bit and try again??? if still no success then maybe look 4 a patch!
Silk is offline  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:25 PM   #3
Aelia Jusa
Iron Throne Cult
 
Tetris Champion
Join Date: August 23, 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 4,867
Hi Inis, welcome to Ironworks [img]graemlins/happywave.gif[/img]

Yes, this is a bug. Ususally if you choose another type of room, ie if it happens when you want a peasant room, choose a merchant room, it should work. If that doesn't work, then I don't know.
__________________
Aelia Jusa is offline  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:32 PM   #4
Skunk
Banned User
 

Join Date: September 3, 2001
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Age: 55
Posts: 1,463
Maybe you just killed someone and the battle music is still playing? Then the game considers that battle to still be in process until the music stops.

Maybe you've just had a dialogue with an NPC and he's just walked off? The game considers you to be in dialogue mode until the NPC has completely dissappeared from the game (this is not the same as being out of sight). Just wait a few minutes and you will be allowed to sleep.

When you click on the sleep dialogue, you get no information why you are being dissallowed - so instead, try saving the game. If you are not allowed to sleep, then you will not be allowed to save. The difference however, is that if you try to save and are disallowed, you *will* be given a reason. This will be the same reason as to why you are not allowed to sleep...

Hope this helps
Skunk is offline  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:35 PM   #5
Kaleban
Manshoon
 

Join Date: October 12, 2001
Location: Bloomington, MN, USA
Posts: 244
Sometimes the game gets stuck in a certain "mode..."

For example:
An NPC approaches you to initiate dialogue.
You just killed some enemies.

The game will not let you save or leave the area, as a scripted sequence has begun which must be completed. For the most part, moving your PC around a bit will break the "script loop" and allow you to continue as normal. On slower processors/less memory/outdated equipment/bad BO/ this is a problem as the resources get tied up by the script. Just be patient.
__________________
He Will Win<BR>Whose Army Is Animated<BR>By The Same Spirit<BR>Throughout Its Ranks<P>Sun Tzu - The Art of War
Kaleban is offline  
Old 11-15-2001, 05:36 PM   #6
Ugaya
Manshoon
 

Join Date: August 24, 2001
Location: Hannover, Germany
Age: 54
Posts: 173
in an inn just click "rent" again after you got the message that you may not rest. In the Copper Coronet it only works this way for me.
__________________
Man is wolf to dwarves
Ugaya is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something Fishy (Bit PG in places) shadowhound General Discussion 5 02-07-2005 04:47 AM
somthing fishy egfisher Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 5 03-03-2002 03:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved