Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Wizards & Warriors Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2010, 03:04 PM   #11
Gokyabgu
Elite Waterdeep Guard
 

Join Date: April 15, 2010
Location: Ankara
Age: 36
Posts: 4
Default Re: Is there a way to increase the resolution in software mode? (config files and suc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyvern View Post
The original patch for W&W was written by someone involved with creating the game but it was an unofficial patch - Activision (who bought up the rights) did nothing to support W&W at all.

This other patch that fixes some of the graphic issues was written by someone else and I don't believe they had any involvement with the developers for W&W.

Even Dungeon Lords is a few years old now - I have no idea what happened to the company and less idea as to whether or not there would be anyone there interested in trying to update a game that is so old. Certainly would be nice - W&W was always a lot better than it was believed to be.

Wyv
Dungeon Lords uses the modified version of W&W. Dungeon Lords runs perfectly on my new system. The solution can be found in this game. Unfortunately my Directx programming level is not enough to understand the problem.
Gokyabgu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:14 PM   #12
Bungleau
40th Level Warrior
 

Join Date: October 29, 2001
Location: Western Wilds of Michigan
Posts: 11,752
Default Re: Is there a way to increase the resolution in software mode? (config files and suc

Boy... it's truly been a while since I played W&W, although I still remember it (and the frickin' video challenges).

In today's world, I'd be inclined to see about getting a VMWare image of Win98 and play the game in there. That would be far, far easier than trying to retrofit lost code.

I suspect I'll be doing that, since I've just about got my son hooked on Might and Magic... W&W isn't far behind
__________________
*B*
Save Early, Save Often Save Before, Save After
Two-Star General, Spelling Soldiers
-+-+-+
Give 'em a hug one more time. It might be the last.
Bungleau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 06:41 PM   #13
Wyvern
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: January 7, 2001
Location: Rural Paradise, MI
Posts: 5,681
Default Re: Is there a way to increase the resolution in software mode? (config files and suc

Bungleau - nice to see you here!!!

Have you checked out gog.com (good old games) ?? They don't have W&W there yet but one can hope! They're not only offereing some great old games but making sure they work on new computers! KEWL!!!
__________________
Wyvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:23 PM   #14
Dr.Pick
Zhentarim Guard
 

Join Date: May 9, 2001
Location: Schenectady, New York
Posts: 310
Crying Re: Is there a way to increase the resolution in software mode? (config files and suc

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gokyabgu View Post
The issue has nothing with the codecs. It's a Nvidia driver issue. I'm sure of it. Since my card is relatively new and there is no way to downgrade drivers (old drivers can't recognize the new card and terribly unstable). If you are going to upgrade your system, select an Ati card instead of Nvidia. I know there is no problem with the Radeon 4000 series at W&W Direct3d mode. But you can select a new Nvidia card like me and have to play W&W at software mode and 640*480.
*shudder* I did software mode for a sort time recently when I restarted playing W&W. I'll have to make sure I avoid Nvidia.

Thanks, +Dr. Pick
__________________
The LORD gives and the LORD takes away. Blessed be the name of the LORD.
Dr.Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution and Rosedragon's Utility files JonnieR Dungeon Craft - RPG Game Maker 1 07-19-2009 12:59 AM
Software to "cut up" music files? Ivelliis General Discussion 10 07-11-2007 02:14 PM
accelerated 3d or software mode ? cebibi Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 6 03-01-2002 11:00 AM
freezing up in software mode rygar ta hun Wizards & Warriors Forum 2 06-16-2001 12:55 AM
How to set game graphics to Software mode Sazerac Wizards & Warriors Forum 1 04-07-2001 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved