Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum

Old 10-23-2003, 05:15 AM   #1
Hayashi
Silver Dragon

I'm new to 3rd ed D&D, but not to RPG. I've completed the entire NG & IWD series including expansions. Here's what Ive decided on so far for my IWD2 party:

Barbarian - main tank, pack mule
Cleric - healer, secondary tank
Sorceror - offensive artillery, diplomat, party spokesperson
Wizard - seconadry spellcaster, alchemist/loremaster

Need some suggestions for the last 2 slots. I want a detrapper & lock picker, and scout for #5. I haven't decided on #6, but perhaps another fighter with some spellcasting abilites, or a magekiller?

Suggestions & comment welcome.
Old 10-23-2003, 07:20 AM   #2
JrKASperov
Fzoul Chembryl

Get a rogue, they're good archers as well as scouts and lockpickers/trapdisablers. Maybe multiclass with ranger so you have some more archering usefulness... Their skills mostly stack
Old 10-23-2003, 07:59 AM   #3
Hayashi
Silver Dragon

Thank you.
So #5 - rogue/ranger mc. Just a few levels in rogue & most in ranger, I would think.

I wonder about #6... [img]graemlins/1ponder.gif[/img]
Old 10-23-2003, 08:58 AM   #4
Micah Foehammer
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice

I would go for a pure tank for #6 - a paladin or a dwarven fighter. The barbarian's inability to use heavy armor is a liability in my mind, and you will want someone who is better able to resist damage. In fact, I would dump the barbarian and replace it with a paladin and then add the dwarven fighter.