Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 08-17-2000, 02:33 AM   #1
heledron

I'm new to AD&D computer games and am wondering how you go about doing the combat in icewind dale.
Old 08-17-2000, 06:26 AM   #2
sibley

Beware of rushing at a foe to take him on in melee. The game is designed so that rushing one foe will reveal several others, and then you'll have to fight them all at once. Instead, let foes come to you if they will, and use only ranged weapons or long-range magic if they won't.

That's the basic idea. There are several ways to expand on it. Many players use a scout. Ideally, a scout will find one foe at a time for you to fight. If it's the sort of foe that will follow you, the scout could lead it back to the rest of the party. Or if the foe won't follow, the scout could start the ranged weapon attack while the rest of the party moves into position. Many players even use a thief hidden in shadows (essentially invisible) as a scout, so the scout can just wait there invisibly while the rest of the party moves up. You need a thief with high stealth skill to make this work.

When you get to higher levels, there are other things you can do with an invisible scout, like find a group of foes and "spot" for a mage throwing fireball or some similar area effect spell.