Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

Old 05-10-2001, 12:38 PM   #1
RudeDawg
20th Level Warrior

I've been collecting DVDs for over 3 years now. Anyone who has watched a movie on DVD knows that the picture and sound quality is outstanding. But, another added benefit of this technology is the storage capacity of the disc. With its huge amount of space, many producers of DVDs add extras to the disc, that cannot be found elsewhere. The "making of" featurettes, interviews with actors, writers, producers, and directors; even audio commentaries that play along with the movie.

With that said, I expect more form a movie on DVD, than on VHS tapes. I like the extras, and love the added quality in picture and sound. I judge new releases on all of this. Many "classic" movies that have been transferred to DVD do not add the extras. They transfer the movie, and leave it at that. It can be disappointting.

Now my review:

The DVD
I am pleased to say that the transfer was outstanding. The color of many "classic" movies has faded, but the trasnfer was from a great, high-quality original print. The color is brighter than I've ever seen of this movie, (I do own 3 copies on tape, the original, a collectors edition, and an "enhanced" edition)and the picture was sharp. The best part was the sound. The DVD was enhanced to include Dolby Surround, and did a great job. The actors voices are louder, and clearer because of this. The soundtrack. is great, and the Dolby system really helps it come alive.