Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-31-2003, 09:53 AM   #1
Attalus
Symbol of Bane
 

Join Date: November 26, 2001
Location: Texas
Age: 70
Posts: 8,167
My CD-ROM has stopped recognizing CD's put into it, I get a message "Please insert a disc into Drive M" whenever I put a CD in and try to run something;& I cannot play any games, etc. Is there any way to fix it, or am I going to need a new one? I have a H-P with 833 MHZ PIII, with 128 meg of RAM. Nothing else is malfunctioning.
__________________
Even Heroes sometimes fail...
Attalus is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 09:59 AM   #2
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,774
Could be a loose IDE connector. Those are the grey ribbon cables if you want to check.

More likely its simply dirt on the lens. CDROM cleaner costs about 5 quid.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 09:59 AM   #3
LordKathen
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice
 

Join Date: September 15, 2002
Location: Kennewick, WA
Age: 46
Posts: 3,165
First try reloading the drivers for it. You probly have some kind of troubleshooting software in your computer, that could help you. I dont know other than that man. Sorry...
__________________
LordKathen is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 10:02 AM   #4
LordKathen
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice
 

Join Date: September 15, 2002
Location: Kennewick, WA
Age: 46
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally posted by andrewas:
Could be a loose IDE connector. Those are the grey ribbon cables if you want to check.

More likely its simply dirt on the lens. CDROM cleaner costs about 5 quid.
Duh... [img]graemlins/doh.gif[/img] [img]graemlins/hehe.gif[/img] , why did'nt I think of that. Just clean the darn thing. [img]graemlins/awesomework.gif[/img] Good call andrewas.
__________________
LordKathen is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 10:08 AM   #5
MagiK
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
The IDE connector being loose would most likely cause the system to not see the drive at all. This symptom sounds like either a dirty lens or a dead laser. Im betting your best bet is to try cleaning the drive and if that doesnt work....get a new one...fortunatley fairly decent CD-ROMS can be had for as low as $30
 
Old 03-31-2003, 01:31 PM   #6
Bahamut
Iron Throne Cult
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Manila, Philippines
Age: 33
Posts: 4,864
yep.. probably just the lens...

ijust have to share this... hehehe

i had this cd-rom.. i tried cleaning it, no good... anyway so it was just sitting pretty since i bought a new one... bought a new pc and gave the hand-me down to my mum who needs it for typing... tried to see if the cd-rom that was wrecked could be fixed... well... it was running... nothing was wrong... now what's up with that??? [img]smile.gif[/img]
Bahamut is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 01:49 PM   #7
harleyquinn
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: November 25, 2002
Location: NY
Age: 43
Posts: 1,190
Quote:
Originally posted by Bahamut:
yep.. probably just the lens...

ijust have to share this... hehehe

i had this cd-rom.. i tried cleaning it, no good... anyway so it was just sitting pretty since i bought a new one... bought a new pc and gave the hand-me down to my mum who needs it for typing... tried to see if the cd-rom that was wrecked could be fixed... well... it was running... nothing was wrong... now what's up with that??? [img]smile.gif[/img]
Maybe it just needed a Mother's touch [img]tongue.gif[/img] Sometimes I think the hardware acts up just to torment us [img]graemlins/biglaugh.gif[/img]
__________________
[img]\"http://www.bethspage.us/sig.jpg\" alt=\" - \" />
harleyquinn is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 02:26 PM   #8
Attalus
Symbol of Bane
 

Join Date: November 26, 2001
Location: Texas
Age: 70
Posts: 8,167
Thanks, guys, I think that the window-dirty thing may be it. The tray powers in and out just fine, and the light blinks for a while, and then goes out. What is CD-ROM cleaner? Some kind of spray? And, how do you find this lens?
__________________
Even Heroes sometimes fail...
Attalus is offline  
Old 03-31-2003, 02:38 PM   #9
MagiK
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
You can find CD player cleaners at most music stores, wall mart and target. They are just cd's with little felt pads attached or brushes and some cleaning solution.
 
Old 03-31-2003, 02:46 PM   #10
Attalus
Symbol of Bane
 

Join Date: November 26, 2001
Location: Texas
Age: 70
Posts: 8,167
Darn, I was just at Wal-Mart last night. Now I'll have to go back. Thanks, MagiK.
__________________
Even Heroes sometimes fail...
Attalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ok, a bit of trouble... Stormymystic Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum 7 10-17-2003 02:27 PM
TOB trouble Karno Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 4 08-12-2003 12:00 PM
Trouble in MP Yseult Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 12-08-2001 05:19 PM
Some very bad trouble Inis Baldurs Gate II Archives 9 11-21-2001 10:15 AM
Still having trouble!!! spludge Baldurs Gate II Archives 6 11-01-2000 09:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved