Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2006, 03:19 PM   #1
ZFR
Legion Symbol
 

Join Date: February 14, 2002
Location: Ireland
Age: 37
Posts: 7,362
Well, usually when I hear about something, it turns out everyone knows about it already.

But this is too good so I'll post about it all the same. Since I haven't heard about it before there might just be someone else like me too.

DosBox is an excellent DOS emulator can be used in different platforms. It is great for having old DOS games run on new PCs. Unlike "slow down CPU" programs, it takes care of everything, sound, music, speed, mouse... they run with sound, and at the right speed, just like they would've on older PCs they were built for.

I used it to run some older games which I thought would be impossible to run on my new PC. All run great. Although I heard there were some issues with a few games on some PCs I haven't encountered any yet.

[img]graemlins/thumbsup.gif[/img]

Hope someone finds this useful too.

[ 03-08-2006, 02:20 PM: Message edited by: ZFR ]
__________________
ZFR
ZFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 03:57 PM   #2
Lucern
Quintesson
 

Join Date: August 28, 2004
Location: the middle of Michigan
Age: 40
Posts: 1,011
I always add this, but since DosBox has its own thread, I'll do it again!

DOSBox is great, but hard to run games get repetitive doing the same things to play them every time, so I like to use DFEND - which stands for DOSBOX Front End - basically makes DOSBox easier to use and accesses the games with just a couple of clicks once you set up a profile.

http://members.home.nl/mabus/dfend.htm
Lucern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 03:58 PM   #3
JrKASperov
Fzoul Chembryl
 

Join Date: July 16, 2003
Location: Wa\'eni\'n
Age: 36
Posts: 1,701
Also, try to find DosBox CVS version, it has this timesynched version that works miles in making games more fluid.
__________________
God is in the rain.
JrKASperov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:36 PM   #4
shamrock_uk
Dracolich
 

Join Date: January 24, 2004
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,092
For those having DosBox problems, I'd like to make an honourable mention to FreeDOS - does a good job of playing Elite for one
shamrock_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 09:52 PM   #5
armageddon272
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: September 20, 2004
Location: Maine, feel sorry for me
Age: 31
Posts: 1,163
I've tried DOSbox but it usually doesn't work for the kind of old games I play. NESticle usually works pretty well though.
armageddon272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 12:25 AM   #6
Sever
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice
 

Join Date: October 31, 2002
Location: Western Australia
Age: 41
Posts: 3,293
I tried Dosbox once to play ES:Arena and i couldn't quite nut it out. I might have to give it another shot...
__________________
Say say, oh playmate
i cannot play with you
my dolly's got the flu
boo hoo hoo hoo hoo hoo
Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 11:52 AM   #7
Iron Greasel
Fzoul Chembryl
 

Join Date: July 13, 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 32
Posts: 1,701
I play Lemmings with it. And Quest for Glory.
__________________
Iron Greasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 02:06 PM   #8
Illumina Drathiran'ar
Apophis
 
5 Card Draw Champion Spy Hunter Champion
Join Date: July 10, 2002
Location: I can see the Manhattan skyline from my window.
Age: 36
Posts: 4,673
So if you don't type things in precisely, does it say "Bad command or file name"? What about "Strike any key when ready" or my all-time favorite, "Abort, retry, fail?"

Because if it did that, I'd get one post haste.
__________________
http://cavestory.org
PLAY THIS GAME. Seriously.

http://xkcd.com/386/
http://www.xkcd.com/406/

My heart is like my coffee. Black, bitter, icy, and with a straw.
Illumina Drathiran'ar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 02:39 PM   #9
Iron Greasel
Fzoul Chembryl
 

Join Date: July 13, 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 32
Posts: 1,701
Illumina: If you use D-Fend you don't have to type any commands. Exept maybe the occasional exit.
__________________
Iron Greasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 02:59 PM   #10
Bithron
Baaz Draconian
 

Join Date: May 2, 2005
Location: Finland
Age: 30
Posts: 782
Ok, I'm getting [img]graemlins/1pissed.gif[/img] !! I wanna know how to type the : symbol.. Seriously it doesn't work... I read the readme and it talked about Ctrl-F1 command but I don't understand it... Please, help!
__________________
Ceiling cat can see you... RIGHT NOW!!!
Bithron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daggerfall in Dosbox Lucern Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 10 06-18-2007 12:22 PM
DosBox help for a dummy. Sever General Discussion 3 05-25-2006 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2022 Ironworks Gaming & ©2022 The Great Escape Studios TM - All Rights Reserved