Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 07-08-2004, 07:31 PM   #1
bladedog
Dungeon Master

As the title says, I just ascended for the first time and I have to admit I really enjoyed this game.

I am a Wizardy veteran, at least of the first two games which I played on a friends fathers Apple ][ e back in the early 80's. I got a copy of Wiz 6 from a second-hand shop a few years back but I just couldn't get into it, and I only bought Wiz8 because the local games shop had a "3 for £20" deal and it was the only thing I could find to make up the three.

I spent no time building characters, because I didn't think I was going to enjoy the game, so I took 6 standard characters from the prebuilt ones and stormed in. I was right, I hated it. After many years playing FPS games with sophisticated user interfaces Wiz8 seemed old fashioned and clunky. But I stuck with it, and slowly got used to it and after a short time I was hooked and couldn't put it down. The rest is history.

So what comments do I have:

Well I only found this site about half way though playing so I knew nothing of training skills etc. I think more should have been made of this in the game so you knew what to try and do.