Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Wizards & Warriors Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 08:59 AM   #121
uk_john
Dungeon Master
 

Join Date: June 4, 2008
Posts: 87
Default Re: Tech Tips (game not working? Read this!)

Well, I upgraded from Nvidia 8600 to an ATI 4850, so i reinstalled the game, then installed the 1.0 patch from here, then the graphics patch from here, set it at 1280x1024 and ---- ta da - the game works! Look through this thread and you'll see I had all sorts of grief with my nvidia card, trying all sorts of things.

The best I could manage was software mode using a slowdown utility (see above!). Now with an ATI card I need no slowdown software or anything, and the game (well the text especially!) looks fantastic! Now all I have to do is start learning to play the game and survive until my team has levelled up a bit!!!
uk_john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 07:15 AM   #122
Huwge
Dungeon Master
 

Join Date: March 13, 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 91
Default Re: Tech Tips (game not working? Read this!)

Moved on to a new PC. Any idea if W&W will run on Win7 64 'out of the box' without endless tweaking?

Thanks in advance
__________________
Huwge
Huwge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:41 AM   #123
WillowIX
Apophis
 

Join Date: July 10, 2001
Location: By a big blue lake, Canada
Age: 43
Posts: 4,628
Default Re: Tech Tips (game not working? Read this!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huwge View Post
Moved on to a new PC. Any idea if W&W will run on Win7 64 'out of the box' without endless tweaking?

Thanks in advance
No. It won't! I'm making real headway using virtual PC with windows 98 though. Don't I feel lucky I saved that old CD. Still not perfect, but I might be getting there.
__________________
Confuzzled by nature.
WillowIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2011, 02:52 AM   #124
Kakero
40th Level Warrior
 

Join Date: March 24, 2002
Posts: 10,215
Default Re: Tech Tips (game not working? Read this!)

Hi! I've search around and found this, hope it works for those who are using win7.

Quote:
Play Wizards & Warriors On Windows 7
By Jonathan Moeller - Last updated: Wednesday, August 25, 2010

One of the computer games I’ve enjoyed the most was the old “Wizards & Warriors” dungeon-crawl RPG, released way back in 2000. Getting it to work properly on Windows 7 is something of a challenge, but it is possible. Here’s how to do it.

First, you need to configure the game’s compatibility settings. Right-click on the shortcut for the game and select Properties. When the “Properties” dialog box appears, click on the Compatibility tab. You’ll need to enable the following settings:

-Run the program in compatibility mode for Windows 98 / Windows ME

-Run in 640 x 480 screen resolution.

-Disable desktop composition.

-Run tthis program as an administrator.

This will allow the game to run in Windows 7, but the town interfaces will not work. The town interface screens are based off an old form of the AVI codec, which isn’t supported properly in versions of Windows beyond Windows 98. To get the town interface screen to work properly, download a program called Virtualdub, which you can get by following this link.

Using Virtualdub, convert all the AVI files in this directory:

C:\Program Files\Activision\WizardsWarriors\townavi

To do so, open the AVI files, and from Virtualdub’s file menu, select “Save as old”. Make absolutely sure the new files have the same name as the old ones, otherwise they will not work.

Once the AVI files have been converted, you can now play Wizards & Warriors. Enjoy!

-JM
Source = http://www.jonathanmoeller.com/screed/?p=1977
Kakero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 10:40 AM   #125
Wyvern
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: January 7, 2001
Location: Rural Paradise, MI
Posts: 5,673
Default Re: Tech Tips (game not working? Read this!)

Thanks Kakero!! Hope that will be helpful!!!
__________________
Wyvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TECH TIPS thread Wyvern Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 2 06-29-2005 06:48 PM
Ad Hoc DL Tech Tips Thread jsalsb Wizards & Warriors Forum 4 03-27-2005 11:05 AM
Testing out the Tech Tips thread... Bungleau Wizards & Warriors Forum 13 08-31-2004 12:48 AM
It never hurts to read these safty tips, it can save your life. Harkoliar General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 36 02-25-2004 12:29 PM
Got the game working! Snoekie Wizards & Warriors Forum 8 05-15-2001 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved