Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 06-14-2002, 11:42 PM   #1
Sir Heinrich Godfrie IV
Zhentarim Guard

I'm looking to buy a new mountain bike here soon. In fact, maybe even tomorrow morning. I was at a local Schwinn bike shop and was looking at buying a 2001 Trek 4900, since it's last years model it's selling for a $100 less at $449.99. I was also at another shop and was looking at a 2002 specialized Hard Rock Comp for the same price.

I am completely new to this sport so i don't have any opinions on which bike to buy, or what I should be lookin for. If anyone has any recomendations I would greatly apreciate them.
Old 06-14-2002, 11:53 PM   #2
Moni

sturdy rims, good tread on the tires, handlebars that won't rack you when you endo, and a good locking system (front tire and seat removal are easy).

That's the best advice I can offer you. [img]smile.gif[/img]
(I haven't owned or ridden one since '99)

Old 06-15-2002, 12:06 AM   #3
johnny
40th Level Warrior

Ms Pacman Champion
and if you have the perfect mountain bike together, be sure to never ever take it with you if you ever visit Holland, it's bound to be stolen in less then 3 hours, even if you're on the bike at that time
Old 06-15-2002, 12:18 AM   #4
DeSoya
Manshoon

It all depends on what kind of riding you are going to be doing. If you're just looking to be riding around on the streets, the bike you picked sounds pretty fine to me. What you want is a light, sturdy bike (aluminum frame for streets) with road slicks for tires.