Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Classics > Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum

Old 04-05-2001, 08:20 PM   #1
Duneswalker
Dungeon Master

I could never relate well to a thief, I am not prone to use stealth or scouting much. I do realize that in IWD/HOW I do need a thief for traps. I'm mulling over these scenario's, keeping in mind I don't plan any stealth backstabs (I'm a Paladin and I play "honorable" (corny I know, I've been roleplaying an adaptation of this party for 20 years on and off) which would fit my playing style best and still give me my needed thief abilities?

A) Dual a Thief to Fighter as soon as my traps are at 100%
B) Dual a Fighter to thief at L9
C) Multiclass Fighter/Thief
D) Dual Thief to Mage

D seems like the most efficient just because it would help the mages HP

I like the first three because then the thief could be in the first or second slot which means that he could detect before everyone trips over the traps.

Also are items for fighter/thief or mage/thief a big consideration.

I thank you for your opinion.
Duneswalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2001, 08:29 PM   #2
Accord
Ninja Storm Shadow

Since you are not too into the scout/backstab, a multi-class fighter/thief should fit to your needs. His primary purpose would be to find and disarm traps for your party.
But if you want more hitpoints and have the time to spare, then I'd pick a fighter then dual him into a thief. But this is a time consuming process.

------------------
Long live H22A1!!!!!
Accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2001, 08:33 PM   #3
Accord
Ninja Storm Shadow