Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal

Old 02-03-2005, 09:43 PM   #1
Stonewarrior
Manshoon

Hi, a quick mods question from one who has never tried one. If you install would you have to start a new a game them to usable? This is my first time playing SoA so there wouldn't be many I would want to try, but I was curious.
Stonewarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 10:27 PM   #2
shamrock_uk
Dracolich

It really depends on the mods you want to try. Most of them would work from the point of install. Some NPC mods would be unaccesable because they're picked up inside Irenicus' dungeon.

If you tell us the ones you have an eye on we could give a more definite answer...
shamrock_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 10:28 PM   #3
Nerull
Lord Ao

Depends on the mod. If it is something small like the bonus merchants, you should not have to restart. But anything that makes any serious changes you probably do. Safest bet is to restart if you add a mod.

However, a piece of advice: don't download mods until you finish the game the first time through. The only things you should download and install are the official patch (obvious reasons) and the Baldurdash fixpacks (which fix errors in the game as well). This will allow you to enjoy the game as it was originally designed, then afterwards you can tinker with the game to your heart's content.
[img]\"ubb/noncgi/smiles/new/ghoul.gif\" alt=\" - \" /><br /><br />\"The middle class pays all of the taxes, does all of the work.<br />The lower class exists just to scare the middle class.\"<br />-George Carlin
Nerull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2005, 09:14 AM   #4