Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2003, 08:05 PM   #1
Attalus
Symbol of Bane
 

Join Date: November 26, 2001
Location: Texas
Age: 69
Posts: 8,166
I uninstalled SoA to get rid of the evil Ascension mod, then my CD-ROM went out. I now have a new CD-RW, but it won't let me install SoA. It keeps asking for new discs up to disc 5, then crashes. Is this a known bug?
__________________
Even Heroes sometimes fail...
Attalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 08:55 PM   #2
Dace De'Briago
Silver Dragon
 

Join Date: December 28, 2002
Location: Wales
Age: 37
Posts: 1,617
Possibly an error on disk 5 of your CDs, you could try cleaning it thoroughly.

Personally, this is what I would do:

1) Try uninstalling BG from the control panel add/remove programs (you may not get this option, but check it anyway).
2) Try uninstalling BG from the autorun CD menu
3) Delete the entire contents of c:\Program Files\Black Isle\Soa II\ Literally delete the folder
4) Retry installation at this point

If this fails... make a cd image of disk 5 and burn a copy. If this process fails, you know for sure you have a bad disk 5. If it burns properly, it could be your new CD-RW being picky with your disk. In which case, repeat steps 1-4 but use your newly burned disk 5.

Hopefully this'll work. If this fails, ask a friend if you can borrow their disk 5 for installation purposes.

Good luck.
__________________
Warning: Powergamer
Dace De'Briago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 09:23 PM   #3
Faceman
Hathor
 

Join Date: February 18, 2002
Location: Vienna
Age: 36
Posts: 2,248
Quote:
Originally posted by Dace De'Briago:
Possibly an error on disk 5 of your CDs, you could try cleaning it thoroughly.Good luck.
Ehm...
He's talking about SoA which HAS only 4 CDs. So cleaning disk 5 won't be actually possible.

It IS a known bug and in my case it could always be resolved by using disk1 as disk5. However the program is actually searching for some missing files which could be on any CD so you'd have to try each of the four to see which fits as CD5.
__________________
\"I am forever spellbound by the frailty of life\"<br /><br /> Faceman
Faceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 06:23 AM   #4
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,774
And if all that dosent work, you have to clean your registry by hand. Start->run->regedit, use the search tool for anything marked baldur or interplay. Be careful in there, delete the wrong things and you can kill windows.
__________________
[img]\"http://www.sighost.us/members/Zvijer/andrewas.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
andrewas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 06:57 AM   #5
Kezardin
Elminster
 

Join Date: June 20, 2001
Location: Sydney
Age: 61
Posts: 486
Attalus,

The Bioware site has some suggestions for possibly getting around the 'CD5' problem :

http://www.bioware.com/games/shadows...ssues/#install
Kezardin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 10:56 AM   #6
Attalus
Symbol of Bane
 

Join Date: November 26, 2001
Location: Texas
Age: 69
Posts: 8,166
Thanks, everybody! I solved it. Want to know how? I found my original game CD's, the ones I lent to Piestrider, and used them. Worked like a charm. Now, what is it about that brand new game that wouldn't install? Anti-piracy thingies? Well, it's going back to Wal-Mart.
__________________
Even Heroes sometimes fail...
Attalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation problems Szass-Tam Baldurs Gate & Tales of the Sword Coast 16 10-25-2005 12:58 PM
How many discs are there? (Installation problems) krunchyfrogg Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 16 10-26-2004 06:37 AM
Expansion installation problems... Raistlin Majere Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum 3 04-21-2004 11:19 AM
Installation Problems Daverian Baldurs Gate & Tales of the Sword Coast 2 09-13-2003 10:33 AM
installation problems Pirengle Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum 8 09-13-2003 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved