Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 09-25-2001, 10:49 AM   #1
Staralfur
Baaz Draconian

I'm currently a university student and have just moved back for the new academic year. The house I (and 3 of my friends) have moved into is in a complete state. Basically the previous tenants moved out the day before we moved in and the whole place needed cleaning (over 150 hours work between 4 of us), and there are many, many other faults including some severe health and security risks, that seem to have come from years of neglect. For example; the cooker does not work properly, we believe it is shorting out the electricity (as something is), and at least one ring isn't working, it is basically unusable. This means we are having to either go out to eat properly or get take aways, which is costing us a fortune compaired to normal eating costs. We have spent the past 4 days trying every method possible to reason with the landlord to get him to sort it out and he is just not, he says one thing one day, then another thing the next. He keeps on coming up with the most ridiculous excuses for things or claiming he will sort things when quite plainly he won't. If this was any other situation the solution would be easy; we would just move out, take him to court etc... However, with student areas being what they are, there is nowhere to go, and it is also a quite a nice house (after we cleared it up). What can we do to get him to sort the problems out that means we won't risk loosing the property?
(I know we're students, but we're not such a bad bunch really).

------------------