Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion

Old 02-02-2005, 10:52 PM   #1
Ilander
20th Level Warrior

Well, I'm a victim of blindly trusting my friends. Damnit.

Regardless, it seems that the MSN virus I obtained is not quite the same as the one in the earlier thread...it has done a few particularly malicious things, like killing Norton Antivirus.

This, of course, upsets me a bit. I DID uninstall MSN Messenger to keep my friends a bit safer, but what do I do now? I would REALLY like to have Norton back, as I have a paid subscription to it for the next year...and it would very much frustrate me to have to pay said price again.

So, how do I get rid of it?

NOTE: When I say that it "killed" Norton Antivirus, I mean that NA will not open. The shortcuts do not work, and neither do the actual .exe files in the program files directory. My computer simply does nothing when I click on them.

Is that what you really want to say?
Ilander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 11:07 PM   #2
Hivetyrant
Jack Burton

Well if its possible to find the name of the virus, Norton may have an Executable file that will remove it from your system..
Other than that, I would ask T-D-C
Hivetyrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 11:17 PM   #3
Ilander
20th Level Warrior

Well, I have decided to try out AVG Free for now...and then, depending upon the results, I'll get back to ya'll.

Old 02-03-2005, 12:04 AM   #4
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator

And that was the last we ever heard of Lyle the Pirate, or Ilander.
Old 02-03-2005, 01:12 AM   #5
Ilander
20th Level Warrior

ARRRRGH! I shall rise again, be sure of that, ye scurvy dog!