Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

View Poll Results: Do you consider yourself knowledgeable about demons?
Yes 8 27.59%
No 19 65.52%
Uh Demon? 2 6.90%
Voters: 29. You may not vote on this poll

Old 09-21-2003, 06:02 PM   #1
Azimaith
Manshoon

I don't know if anyone has noticed by I am extremely interested in demonology and such. Now before you label me as some stupid wannabe goth i'll tell you I am a well adjusted college student who actively researches the Judeo Christian Mythos. Alrighty, lets start off with everyones most popular name for a demon.

ASMODAEUS: Asmodaeus is simply hebrew for "evil" or "unclean" spirit. It was eventually used to signify the devil, originally it was an evil spirit. It is origninally believed to come from a persian god named Aeshma-deva. The apocryphal Book of Tobit describes an instance where Raguel's daughter, Sarah, was tormented by the demon. She was married to seven times, each time the Asmodeus killed off the husband before they could have intercourse. Sarah, was about to hang herself in grief, but decided against it after thinking about the shame it would cause her father. She then prayed to God for death.

God answered her prayer by sending the angel, Raphael, to her aid. He instructed Tobiah to place fish liver and heart on the embers for incense. Asmodaeus was repelled by the odor:

"The demon, repelled by the odor of the fish, fled into Upper Egypt; Raphael pursued him there and bound him hand and foot." - Tobit 8:3

Apparently Asmodaeus doesn't like fish.