Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not)

Old 12-08-2001, 10:21 PM   #1
or1onquest
Welcomed New User

Hi! I'm just starting out and would like any advice on which non-magical skills are required, e.g., communication. I don't intend on having a rogue character so I probably will pick locks through magic. Currently, my 6-person party will probably contain:

1. Fighter
2. Monk
3. ??? maybe a ninja
4. Bard
5. Bishop (offense)
6. Bishop (defense)

Any thoughts on which skills I definitely should have someone working on?
or1onquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2001, 10:36 PM   #2
Morgalas Everhate
Dungeon Master

Go for Ranger as your ?? character

As for your bishops, I would specialize say in fire/air/mental for one and water/earth/divine for the other. And since there is also Wizardry/alchemy/psionics/divinty branches focus on 2 or 3 for each at the begining then expand later or you may have weak caster till higher levels.

Also give all your guys slings/bows and allow them you learn as they fire them in combat. This way when spell points are low or somebody can't reach the front line you can still do something. I don't invest any points in ranged/bow/sling skills just let em build up on thier own.
Old 12-08-2001, 10:43 PM   #3
Syrin
Elite Waterdeep Guard

Communication is not necessary nor is mythology. They go up by huge increments just by routine use. Put points into pickpocket which REALLY pays off later, lockpick, and artifacts for someone early. Once you get someone with an artifact skill of about 20, it will go up quickly enough on its own
Old 12-08-2001, 11:03 PM   #4
or1onquest
Welcomed New User