Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2004, 05:17 AM   #41
Bahamut
Iron Throne Cult
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Manila, Philippines
Age: 33
Posts: 4,864
Finicky in the sense that ATI cards don't work well with Open GL, and that playing NWN with it is like playing in a minefield- not knowing which effect is screwed up, or missing, or whatnot. With the new Catalyst drivers of ATI though, that problem might be addressed already.

Now, nVidia is always the better card with compatibility. Specs wise though, ATI has the upper hand always (speed-wise [fps]). Animal can tell you that one... yoohoo! [img]smile.gif[/img]

EDIT: I forgot to mention that ATI Cards perform better than their counterpart, at a lower price

[ 07-11-2004, 04:19 AM: Message edited by: Bahamut ]
Bahamut is offline  
Old 07-11-2004, 12:00 PM   #42
Memnoch
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: February 28, 2001
Location: Boston/Sydney
Posts: 11,764
Hmmm. From recent canvassing it looks like the FX5700 might actually be better value...though I've found a couple of 9600Pros which might beat that. But I'm struggling to find a 9600XT for cheaper than an FX5700. [img]graemlins/awcrap.gif[/img]
__________________


Memnoch is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 06:18 PM   #43
Animal
Gold Dragon
 

Join Date: March 29, 2002
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,534
Quote:
Originally posted by Memnoch:
Hmmm. From recent canvassing it looks like the FX5700 might actually be better value...though I've found a couple of 9600Pros which might beat that. But I'm struggling to find a 9600XT for cheaper than an FX5700. [img]graemlins/awcrap.gif[/img]
By the sounds of your needs, Memnoch, you're probably better off with an nVidia card for the better OpenGL support. I'm guessing you're not into screwing around with your machine for hours on end until you get it working, you want to plug it in and have it work perfectly.

Now, don't get me wrong, ATI is good, 4/5 of my PC's run ATI cards, but with games such as NWN, KOTOR or other 3D OpenGL games, nVidia will provide the easier experience.
__________________
It\'s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye...then it becomes a sport.<br /> [img]\"http://members.shaw.ca/mtholdings/bsmeter.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
Animal is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 12:03 PM   #44
Memnoch
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: February 28, 2001
Location: Boston/Sydney
Posts: 11,764
Just a bump up with some updated info.

Animal, I've been given the opportunity to get a "practically new" Albatron GeforceFX 5900XT 128MB for $160 AUD (about $110 USD). It currently retails here for about $300+. IS this a decent card (ie will it run NWN, FIFA, NBA Live, Civ III, Rise of Nations, etc. as well as maybe the odd FPS?

More importantly, will my motherboard (I've got a Dell 8100 from about 2 1/2 years ago) support this card? I don't want to short my system out.

Cheers mate. [img]smile.gif[/img]

[ 07-20-2004, 11:16 AM: Message edited by: Memnoch ]
__________________


Memnoch is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 01:48 PM   #45
frudi_x
Drow Warrior
 

Join Date: June 29, 2001
Location: the pale blue dot...
Age: 38
Posts: 294
the 5900XT is a very good card, basicly about twice as fast as the 5700 (5900XT has twice the rendering pipelines and 256-bit memory compared to the 5700's 128-bit memory). if you can get it at that price, it's a VERY good deal. however, you will need a good PSU to run it, at least a good quality 350W. oh, and make sure your case is big enough, as it's rather long [img]smile.gif[/img] .
so, if your PSU and case are up to it, take the 5900XT. it will run not only the games you listed but upcoming titles like doom3, half-life 2, stalker... games the 5700 will more or less strugle with.
frudi_x is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:33 AM   #46
Animal
Gold Dragon
 

Join Date: March 29, 2002
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,534
Quote:
Originally posted by Memnoch:
Just a bump up with some updated info.

Animal, I've been given the opportunity to get a "practically new" Albatron GeforceFX 5900XT 128MB for $160 AUD (about $110 USD). It currently retails here for about $300+. IS this a decent card (ie will it run NWN, FIFA, NBA Live, Civ III, Rise of Nations, etc. as well as maybe the odd FPS?

More importantly, will my motherboard (I've got a Dell 8100 from about 2 1/2 years ago) support this card? I don't want to short my system out.

Cheers mate. [img]smile.gif[/img]
You should be okay as long as your Dell mobo supports at least 4X AGP. However, you may want to think about upgrading your Power Supply BUT Dell uses a proprietary unit and although a normal PSU will physically look the same and plug into the mobo, the pin-outs are different. If you plug a normal PS into your mobo, or a non-Dell mobo to your Dell PS, you will fry it.

That's a great deal on the 5900XT, and I would certainly grab it. On the side or bottom of the Power Supply unit inside your case should be a rating sticker. The problem is, there are no consistant measurements for Power Supplies, so a 350W rating might be at 10 Celsuis, where at at operating temperature it may only by rated at 200W or 250W.

If you put the new card in and your PS can't supply consistant voltages, you'll end up with crashes and blue screens out the ying yang.

EDIT: I'd buy it, and if it is too much for your system throw it up on eBay. You'll get your money back and then some.

[ 07-21-2004, 02:35 AM: Message edited by: Animal ]
__________________
It\'s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye...then it becomes a sport.<br /> [img]\"http://members.shaw.ca/mtholdings/bsmeter.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
Animal is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 05:24 AM   #47
Bahamut
Iron Throne Cult
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Manila, Philippines
Age: 33
Posts: 4,864
I second the motion. A great deal indeed and I would jump to it as well
Bahamut is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:01 PM   #48
Memnoch
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: February 28, 2001
Location: Boston/Sydney
Posts: 11,764
Thanks guys...I think I'll go for it. Is there any diag tool that will tell me what my PSU wattage is? I couldn't find it on Sandra or AIDA32. I did enter "Dell 8100" and "power supply" into Google and I found a number of references suggesting the PSU was 330W...
__________________


Memnoch is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 12:23 PM   #49
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: March 1, 2001
Location: Midlands, South Carolina
Age: 43
Posts: 14,749
If you find a program like aida23 that will tell you, let me know!
Larry_OHF is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:15 PM   #50
Animal
Gold Dragon
 

Join Date: March 29, 2002
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,534
There is no (that I know of) program that will tell you what your PS is rated at since, your motherboard only uses what it needs.

Memnoch, if it is indeed a 330W then prepare for some problems, but like I said if you upgrade you need to get a Dell rated PSU.

Having said that, good choice [img]graemlins/thumbsup.gif[/img]
__________________
It\'s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye...then it becomes a sport.<br /> [img]\"http://members.shaw.ca/mtholdings/bsmeter.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
Animal is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a motherboard... Ilander General Discussion 19 04-15-2006 10:58 AM
Replacing Jaheira Ironbar Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 31 03-16-2004 11:19 PM
Replacing BG2 paper doll with BG1 dolls? Feyd Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 02-20-2002 10:25 PM
Replacing paper doll in the inventory section Feyd Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 02-19-2002 06:40 PM
Corrupt files need replacing ped2982 Baldurs Gate & Tales of the Sword Coast 0 09-03-2001 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved