Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2004, 03:27 PM   #11
Animal
Gold Dragon
 

Join Date: March 29, 2002
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,534
Yes, the Radeon 9600pro or 9600XT are good cards, but they don't handle Open GL as well as nVidia cards do. Rumour has it, that a future driver release for ATI will fix the Open GL problem.

Having said that, I use a 9800XT and am quite impressed with it. Quite frankly, picture quality is a lot better than my old Geforce card, and I have yet to find any games that I can't play with all details maxed out, including 8X AA, and 16X AF.

I don't do much with the FPS myself, but do enjoy NWN, KOTOR, Flight Sim 2004, etc...

To be honest, if your card is working great for the games you play today, hold off until it can't. Any card you buy today, will be outdated tommorrow.
__________________
It\'s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye...then it becomes a sport.<br /> [img]\"http://members.shaw.ca/mtholdings/bsmeter.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
Animal is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:00 PM   #12
Cienden
Manshoon
 

Join Date: October 30, 2003
Location: Washington, United States
Age: 36
Posts: 237
I'll echo the statement about NWN being finicky with ATI cards. I let a friend borrow my copy of NWN and it wouldn't run. I tinkered around a bit in the BIOS and got it running. Worked ok for about a month then it just quit working again.

I will say though I am impressed by the ATI 9800Pro. It's older, but pretty sweet nevertheless. I just put on in my parents computer and ran Morrowind with full settings (16x+ani+trueform) and it was smoking along nicely. Makes me jealous. [img]smile.gif[/img] Luckily I got my old GF4 T4200 working nicely now though. I just don't understand laying down $500 for a gfx board.
__________________
Member of the [url]\"http://www.xwaupgrade.com\" target=\"_blank\">X-Wing Alliance Upgrade</a> team. Bringing the highest quality Star Wars craft to a game near you.
Cienden is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 10:46 PM   #13
Harkoliar
Jack Burton
 

Join Date: March 21, 2001
Location: Philippines, but now Harbor City Sydney
Age: 35
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally posted by Sir Krustin:
If you want to play ANY of the newer games, eg Far Cry, then you NEED a newer card.

Incidentally, don't knock the FX series cards too much, the 5200 (a low-end card if ever there was one) is fully capable of running Far Cry with most detail levels at medium (and water effects at full) and still get good framerates (40fps+) on a low-end machine.

If you want all the eyecandy, you'll need an X800 or a GF6800 but even on medium, the look of this game is spectacular.
thats right! im on student budget so i got the fx5200. thank goodness it can run the newer games at a decent fashion.
__________________

Catch me if you can..
Harkoliar is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:47 AM   #14
Memnoch
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: February 28, 2001
Location: Boston/Sydney
Posts: 11,764
So what's the difference between ATI and Nvidia?
__________________


Memnoch is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 09:56 AM   #15
RoSs_bg2_rox
Zartan
 

Join Date: May 20, 2003
Location: Near Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 29
Posts: 5,225
I would recommend the Radeon 9800Pro, its about £130, which (if I converted properly on XE.com) is around $330 (your in AUD right?). Although you could get it cheaper on ebay.
__________________
[img]\"http://img.ranchoweb.com/images/ladyzekke/dragonwater2.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
RoSs_bg2_rox is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:12 AM   #16
Thoran
Galvatron
 

Join Date: January 10, 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 51
Posts: 2,109
I've been very happy with my FX 5700 Ultra, although I would avoid any FX other than the 5700 or 5950... they had "issues" that were mostly overcome in these two newer cards. My card is a single slot unit that had a decent sized fan/heat sink but it still took only one slot (I've got it liquid cooled now so there's no fan at all).

Performance has been good, overclockability ok. I can run Far Cry at 1280x1024 with everything at maximum except shadows (which I think they've got an engine problem with, good performance outdoors, but go in a cave and the frame rates drop to unplayable levels).
Thoran is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 11:14 AM   #17
Bahamut
Iron Throne Cult
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: Manila, Philippines
Age: 33
Posts: 4,864
I have my FX 5600. And I am happy with it. Now am looking for speakers...

Mem, the diff? Competition. Both has its ups and downs. ATI being the fastest yet (with the same level of cards) somehow not as compatible in other progs as nVidia... I think
Bahamut is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 07:10 PM   #18
Karathis
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
ge force is shit !


get ati radeon cards !
 
Old 07-06-2004, 08:10 PM   #19
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: March 1, 2001
Location: Midlands, South Carolina
Age: 43
Posts: 14,749
Quote:
Originally posted by Karathis:
ge force is shit !


get ati radeon cards !
Thank you for your highly intellegent opinion.
I am sure alot of people will be converted by your testimonial.
__________________
Larry_OHF is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:10 PM   #20
Cienden
Manshoon
 

Join Date: October 30, 2003
Location: Washington, United States
Age: 36
Posts: 237
Well that was intelligent. He's probably just jealous for being stuck with a Diamon Stealth 3D 2MB board from about 1996.
__________________
Member of the [url]\"http://www.xwaupgrade.com\" target=\"_blank\">X-Wing Alliance Upgrade</a> team. Bringing the highest quality Star Wars craft to a game near you.
Cienden is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a motherboard... Ilander General Discussion 19 04-15-2006 10:58 AM
Replacing Jaheira Ironbar Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 31 03-16-2004 11:19 PM
Replacing BG2 paper doll with BG1 dolls? Feyd Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 02-20-2002 10:25 PM
Replacing paper doll in the inventory section Feyd Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 2 02-19-2002 06:40 PM
Corrupt files need replacing ped2982 Baldurs Gate & Tales of the Sword Coast 0 09-03-2001 04:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved