Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum

Old 01-22-2004, 12:14 AM   #1
Beef
Elite Waterdeep Guard

I'm a NWN newbie wondering what weapon proficiencies I should give my chars. I'm glad the Cleric blunt-weapon-only rule is gone but, I am left with too many choices, I think.

Are there any rules of thumb?

e.g. for a Paladin, 2H-sword vs halberd vs Greataxe

or

for anyone, 2H weapon vs 1H weapon & shield

What about Blackguards or Desciples of Torm? Different from Paladins?

Also, what's the best weapon for Thief/Assassin/Blackguard backstabing?

Any class-specific proficiencies to always make sure to have?

Is it even worthwhile to get weapon proficiencies for any classes besides Fighter?
Beef<br /><br />=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=<br />We are all born with both gifts & shortcomings.<br />The smart people are the ones that learn to use their gifts.<br />The happy people are the ones that learn to accept their shortcomings.
Beef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2004, 01:16 AM   #2
Illumina Drathiran'ar
Apophis

5 Card Draw Champion
Personal preference should trump anything we tell you. Which would you rather play... What image do you like more? A paladin wielding a huge sword, or a longsword and shield, or perhaps a polearm? A rogue with a short sword, a dagger, or perhaps both at the same time?
What race is the character?