Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 04-15-2003, 01:25 PM   #1
FelixJaeger
Symbol of Cyric

Hey all you talented guitarists...
Erm i've been playing guitar for a couple of months now and I was wondering if it really does help getting lessons? I've been teaching myself and i'm doing kinda good according to some people but if lessons are gonna really help me then i'm all up for them...
Thanks for your help...cause i know i'll get it...
Felix
Old 04-15-2003, 02:50 PM   #2
Yorick
Very Mad Bird

Lessons will help. [img]smile.gif[/img]

http://www.hughwilson.com
Old 04-15-2003, 03:47 PM   #3
FelixJaeger
Symbol of Cyric

Yay!!!
Thats all i was looking for... now to find a teacher cause the ones at school suck...
Felix
Old 04-15-2003, 03:48 PM   #4
Gangrell
Iron Throne Cult

If you're naturally gifted, you don't need a teacher! [img]tongue.gif[/img] But yea, lessons would probably help.
Old 04-15-2003, 04:39 PM   #5
Bungleau
40th Level Warrior

A teacher can do a few things, all of which are important.

First, the basics. These are the standard things that you can often pick up from exercise books. A teacher can help with things as simple as how to read music (ever see drum music? It's different, for sure...).

Second, shortcuts. My second drum instructor showed me the way I still count today -- from one-and-two-and to one-dah-dee-two-dah-dee to one-ee-and-ah-two-ee-and-ah. Did eventually see it written down, but differently.