Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 03-23-2005, 09:18 AM   #1
SpitBall
The Magister

Hey folks - just joined the forum, but I've been playing Wizardry since the 1980's on the old Apple IIe's. Been playing Wiz8 for about a month now. I'm on my fifth party. Others were ditched for various reasons - mostly related to the "learning curve". I play no mods, but am fully patched.

OK, here's the thing. I figured out the "holding levels" thing and used it to keep my party level fairly low so that I didn't get completely wasted the first time I tried to leave the monestery and cruise over to Arnika. I held a lvl 4, the had to move to 6 lvl (figured out by trial and error - plus extensive saving) to rescue Vi. Then I held at lvl 6 and was able to cover most of the planet. Again by saving and experimenting, I found those regions and beasts that were too tough for my lvl 6 party. Had to move up to lvl 10/11 to survive the Covert Ops training with the Umpani.

I still have not tried every area at lvl 11, but the Rattkin are kicking my ass in Trynton, although the Oak Saplings were a piece of cake.

Question is this: Given that levels are now further apart, is there anything to be gained by continuing to hold levels at this point?

Just because most want such info: I run a "classical" party of 6. Balancing fighting brawn with divine healing and wizardly spells.