Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion

Old 09-25-2011, 09:23 PM   #1
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator

Default Windows 7 help needed

I'm new to Windows 7, and there is an issue with administration level I am not figuring out. I've noticed things that make changes have to go through an admin permissions check, and some programs have to be set up to run with the admin permissions already established. I got that one figured out, such as freeware virus and spam scanners and all that. My issue is with saving pages in favorites. After reading a new page of comics, I try to save that newest updated page in my Comics folder, but it does not appear. The URL does not get added to the favorites folder. It must be something to do with making changes or additions without the proper permission in place, but I can't find out where to enable the permissions.
Old 09-25-2011, 09:52 PM   #2
SpiritWarrior
Jack Burton

Default Re: Windows 7 help needed

UAC issue. Check out the user account control settings in Control Panel for all your permission needs. Security is nice but saving favorites is necessary.
Old 09-25-2011, 10:03 PM   #3
SpiritWarrior
Jack Burton

As a side, if that doesn't work, find your faves folder (defalt is in My Documents - or a folder with your computers name on it) and make a copy of the stuff in there. Delete the folder, then make a new one, pasting the links back in, and naming it properly.

Sometimes, the system cannot locate your favorites folder so does nothing when you add a new one. This should sort it, if you accidentally moved or pointed to a different locale. But it is more likely permissions imo.
Old 09-26-2011, 11:16 PM   #4
Larry_OHF