Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2013, 08:53 PM   #31
Chewbacca
Zartan
 

Join Date: July 18, 2001
Location: America, On The Beautiful Earth
Age: 48
Posts: 5,373
Happy Laughing Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

LOL!

Attached is some of my latest SC4 work. I built my first real highway with release of NAM 31, complete with a Mcdonalds sign at the exit. And yes, that Krispy Kreme donuts is the local police station.
Attached Images
File Type: png City of Dreams-Dec. 6, 141363746899.png (3.01 MB, 13 views)
File Type: png City of Dreams-Dec. 6, 141363747098.png (2.95 MB, 10 views)
__________________
Support Local Music and Record Stores!
Got Liberty?
Chewbacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:04 AM   #32
Ziroc
Ironworks Webmaster

     
     Bow to the Meow

 

Join Date: January 4, 2001
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 11,713
Thumbs Up Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewbacca View Post
LOL!

Attached is some of my latest SC4 work. I built my first real highway with release of NAM 31, complete with a Mcdonalds sign at the exit. And yes, that Krispy Kreme donuts is the local police station.

WHOA! Nice man!! That freeway off ramp rocks, the round-about is awesome and the Frank Lloyd Wright house is a great touch! (Is that a downloadable or is it in SC4? I forget..gotta look), whats it under? (LM menu?)


Krispy Kremes... drroooooollls... mmmmmm fresh..and warm..
__________________
Ziroc™
Ironworks Gaming Webmaster
www.ironworksgaming.com

The Great Escape Studios - 2D/3D Modeling
www.tgeweb.com & Ziroc's Facebook Page
Visit My Flickr Photo Album
Ziroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:38 AM   #33
Chewbacca
Zartan
 

Join Date: July 18, 2001
Location: America, On The Beautiful Earth
Age: 48
Posts: 5,373
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Thanks Z!

SC4 has turned into a bit of an obsession the last few months since I discovered the vast content available. This has stoked a lot of personal creativity and curiosity for me. It's one of those games that has really transcended being just a game. Clearly an example of how video games are truly art, both for the creators and players.

The Frank Lloyd Wright piece was made by one of my favorite modders, mattb325. Here:

http://sc4devotion.com/csxlex/lex_fi...php?lotGET=252
__________________
Support Local Music and Record Stores!
Got Liberty?
Chewbacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:12 AM   #34
Ziroc
Ironworks Webmaster

     
     Bow to the Meow

 

Join Date: January 4, 2001
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 11,713
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewbacca View Post
Thanks Z!

SC4 has turned into a bit of an obsession the last few months since I discovered the vast content available. This has stoked a lot of personal creativity and curiosity for me. It's one of those games that has really transcended being just a game. Clearly an example of how video games are truly art, both for the creators and players.

The Frank Lloyd Wright piece was made by one of my favorite modders, mattb325. Here:

http://sc4devotion.com/csxlex/lex_fi...php?lotGET=252

Sweet, download it now! my old account at Simtropolis, and downloaded the latest NAM too!

Heck, I made some small buildings a long time ago in 3ds max for SC4, but have no idea where I put them.. they were nothing major.. but NOW I could make some neat buildings--and now they have the nighttime lighting, it'd rock!!
__________________
Ziroc™
Ironworks Gaming Webmaster
www.ironworksgaming.com

The Great Escape Studios - 2D/3D Modeling
www.tgeweb.com & Ziroc's Facebook Page
Visit My Flickr Photo Album
Ziroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:09 AM   #35
Kakero
40th Level Warrior
 

Join Date: March 24, 2002
Posts: 10,215
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewbacca View Post
LOL!

Attached is some of my latest SC4 work. I built my first real highway with release of NAM 31, complete with a Mcdonalds sign at the exit. And yes, that Krispy Kreme donuts is the local police station.
Nice city planning. Much better than mine.

I'm stuck at grid system. However I find that I can maximize space and earn more by using grid system. My main city is earning more than 6k now.

My current city now. I have problem with traffic and the east side of my city is having long commute problem. I might have to create another industrial city for my east side people.

This is my Farm "city". There's nothing but farm in it. Looks too vanilla cause I didn't download SPAM yet. The problem with this Farm city is that it only create 471 jobs for my main city. WTF?
Kakero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:33 AM   #36
Ziroc
Ironworks Webmaster

     
     Bow to the Meow

 

Join Date: January 4, 2001
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 11,713
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Yeah, and the new sim city has NO farms... so lame..
__________________
Ziroc™
Ironworks Gaming Webmaster
www.ironworksgaming.com

The Great Escape Studios - 2D/3D Modeling
www.tgeweb.com & Ziroc's Facebook Page
Visit My Flickr Photo Album
Ziroc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 01:36 PM   #37
Chewbacca
Zartan
 

Join Date: July 18, 2001
Location: America, On The Beautiful Earth
Age: 48
Posts: 5,373
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

SC4 vanilla farms are little bugged when it comes to jobs. I think it is only the jobs at the farm buildings that are reported, not the jobs on the individual crop tiles. SPAM fixes that up and more.

I also like the farms by simgoober, another prolific SC4 modder.

It's really crazy how much time I have spent just downloading stuff for this game. It's like shopping with an unlimited line of credit.
__________________
Support Local Music and Record Stores!
Got Liberty?
Chewbacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:26 PM   #38
Chewbacca
Zartan
 

Join Date: July 18, 2001
Location: America, On The Beautiful Earth
Age: 48
Posts: 5,373
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziroc View Post
Sweet, download it now! my old account at Simtropolis, and downloaded the latest NAM too!

Heck, I made some small buildings a long time ago in 3ds max for SC4, but have no idea where I put them.. they were nothing major.. but NOW I could make some neat buildings--and now they have the nighttime lighting, it'd rock!!
One note about the latest NAM, it has some bugs. Mostly with the RHW portion. It's still very stable and usable. The NAM team is working on an update.

Ziroc, let us know if you put any work up for download. I'd be very happy to check it out.
__________________
Support Local Music and Record Stores!
Got Liberty?
Chewbacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:43 PM   #39
Firestormalpha
Knight of the Rose
 
Zelda Champion Snake Champion
Join Date: July 11, 2002
Location: Coral Springs, Fl USA
Age: 37
Posts: 4,454
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Ok, my sister found an old copy of SimCity 4 deluxe edition. She said I could have it, so now I do. Reading the manual it mentions that the game is not compatible with Windows NT. I'm currently running Vista (still saving for a new computer), which as I recall is an NT based system. Would I be correct in assuming this means SC4 probably won't work on my current computer?


Ok, it installs and runs, but it's a bit on the choppy side with my computer.
__________________
"When you start with a presupposition, it's hard to arrive at any other conclusion."

"We are never to judge a philosophy by its abuse." - Augustine

"If you're wondering if God has a sense of humor, consider the platypus."

http://www.greaterthings.cbglades.com

Last edited by Firestormalpha; 04-03-2013 at 12:04 AM.
Firestormalpha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:48 AM   #40
Chewbacca
Zartan
 

Join Date: July 18, 2001
Location: America, On The Beautiful Earth
Age: 48
Posts: 5,373
Default Re: I knew it... EA Ruins new Sim City 'Reboot' Always online DRM down!

Hey Firestorm, I still have Vista and the game runs but....

If you have a multi-core processor, you will have to set the game to only run on one processor.

I have found this start-up utility very helpful:
http://community.simtropolis.com/fil...-sc4-launcher/
__________________
Support Local Music and Record Stores!
Got Liberty?
Chewbacca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ReBoot is coming back! Hivetyrant Entertainment (Movies, TV Shows and Books/Comics) 7 08-23-2007 10:01 PM
I knew it! Jorath Calar General Discussion 3 06-22-2005 05:36 PM
I never knew people could take this so seriously Jaradu General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 22 10-25-2004 09:27 PM
Mook Hologram Bug - After patch, reboot mahalito Miscellaneous Games (RPG or not) 1 12-12-2001 02:25 AM
*chuckle* who knew Inis Baldurs Gate II Archives 8 11-21-2001 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2021 Ironworks Gaming & ©2021 The Great Escape Studios TM - All Rights Reserved